Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

CWU Special Collections

This guide describes the special collections of Brooks Library at Central Washington University.

Fashion History

Fashion History and Costume Design

The following subject guide represents only a small portion of our collections, and does not represent all of the subject strengths of our collections. Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections-- many other sources can be found in other departments of the Library.

Though every attempt will be made to keep these guides current, please keep in mind that our collections are growing daily and we add titles in all subjects on an ongoing basis. If you would like to find out more about items in Special Collections or have a specific reference question, please email us at archive@cwu.edu.


Subject Guide to Fashion History and Costume Design
Central Washington University
Special Collections
November 2006
Prepared by Anne Bahde

Books

  • Braun, Louis, et. al. Zur Geschichte der Kostume. Munchen: Verlag Brom und Schneider, 18??. GT513.Z87.
  • Huzixiang, Tan. Character Costume Figure Drawing. Oxford : Elsevier, 2003. PN2067.T36 2004.
  • Lipson, Louis. Lipson's Artistic Costume Design. Los Angeles : the author, 1941. TT507.L55 1941.
  • ---. Lipson's Textbook of Practical Costume Designing. Los Angeles : the author, 1950. TT507.L56 1950.
  • Pilton, Camille. Le Costume Civil en France du XIII au XIX Siecle. Paris : Ernest Flammarion, 1927?. GT850.P5. 
  • Vogue Covers, 1900-1970. New York : Harmony Books, 1978. NC1849.F38 V64 1978.

Magazines

  • Ladies' Home Magazine. Philadelphia: T. S. Arthur, 1859-1860. AP2.L33.
  • Godey's Lady's Book and Magazine. Philadelphia: Louis A. Godey. AP2.G63.
  • Graham's Lady's and Gentleman's Magazine. Philadelphia: G. R. Graham. Edited by Edgar Allen Poe. AP2.G73.
  • Needlecraft Magazine. New York : Needlecraft Publishing Co., 1930.
  • Photoplay Magazine. Chicago: Photoplay Publishing House, 1924. (Jan-Feb)