Skip to Main Content
Ask CWU Libraries
CWU Libraries Home

CWU Special Collections

This guide describes the special collections of Brooks Library at Central Washington University.

Civil War and Slavery

The Civil War And Slavery

The following subject guide represents only a small portion of our collections, and does not represent all of the subject strengths of our collections. Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections-- many other sources can be found in other departments of the Library.

Though every attempt will be made to keep these guides current, please keep in mind that our collections are growing daily and we add titles in all subjects on an ongoing basis. If you would like to find out more about items in Special Collections or have a specific reference question, please email us at archive@cwu.edu.

Subject Guide to The Civil War and Slavery
Central Washington University
Special Collections
November 2006
Prepared by Anne Bahde

  • Bowman, S. M., and Richard B. Irwin. Sherman and His Campaigns: A Military Biography. New York ; Cincinnati: C.B. Richardson; C.F. Vent & Co., 1865. 
  • Brownlow, William Gannaway. Sketches of the Rise, Progress, and Decline of Secession: With a Narrative of Personal Adventures among the Rebels. Philadelphia; Cincinnati: G.W. Childs; Applegate & Co., 1862. 
  • Channing, William Ellery. Slavery. Boston: J. Munroe and Company, 1835. 
  • Davis, Jefferson. The Rise and Fall of the Confederate Government. New York: D. Appleton and Co., 1881.
  • Dodge, Theodore Ayrault. A Bird's-Eye View of our Civil War. Boston: J.R. Osgood, 1883. 
  • Gordon, Armistead. Befo’ de War. New York: C. Scribner’s, 1899. 
  • Greeley, Horace. The American Conflict: A History of the Great Rebellion in the United States of America, 1860-'64: Its Causes, Incidents, and Results: Intended to Exhibit Especially Its Moral and Political Phases, with the Drift and Progress of American Opinion Respecting Human Slavery, from 1776 to the Close of the War for the Union. Hartford, Conn.: O. D. Case, 1864.
  • Helper, Hinton Rowan. Compendium of the Impending Crisis of the South. New York: A. B. Burdick, 1860. 
  • Johnston, Harry Hamilton. History of a Slave. London: Kegan Paul, Trench, and Co., 1889. 
  • Laut, Agnes C. The Freebooters of the Wilderness. New York: Moffat, Yard and Company, 1910. 
  • Loyal Publication Society of New York. Opinions of the Early Presidents: And of the Fathers of the Republic, upon Slavery, and upon Negroes as Men and Soldiers. Vol. 18. New York: W.C. Bryant & Co., Printers, 1863.
  • McPherson, Edward. A Political Manual for 1866. Washington, D.C.: Philip and Solomons, 1866. 
  • Moore, Frank. Women of the War; Their Heroism and Self-Sacrifice. Hartford, Conn.; Chicago: S.S. Scranton & Co.; R.C. Treat, 1866. 
  • Mottelay, Paul Fleury, and T. Campbell-Copeland. The Soldier in our Civil War: A Pictorial History of the Conflict, 1861-1865, Illustrating the Valor of the Soldier as Displayed on the Battle-Field. from Sketches Drawn by Forbes, Waud, Taylor, Beard, Becker, Lovie, Schell, Crane and ... Other Eye-Witnesses .. New York and Atlanta: Stanley Bradley Publishing Company, 1893. 
  • Pollard, Edward Alfred. The First Year of the War. Richmond: West & Johnson, 1864. 
  • ---. The Second Year of the War. Vol. 2. New York: C.B. Richardson, 1864.
  • ---. The Lost Cause : A New Southern History of the War of the Confederates : Comprising a Full and Authentic Account of the Rise and Progress of the Late Southern Confederacy--the Campaigns, Battles, Incidents, and Adventures of the most Gigantic Struggle of the World's History.
  • Sherman, William T. Memoirs of General William T. Sherman. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 1875.
  • Stidger, Felix Grundy. Treason History of the Order of Sons of Liberty, Formerly Circle of Honor, Succeeded by Knights of the Golden Circle, Afterward Order of American Knights, the most Gigantic Treasonable Conspiracy the World has Ever Known. 1864. .. Chicago: The Author, 1903. 
  • Stowe, Harriet Beecher. Dred: A Tale of the Great Dismal Swamp. Boston: Phillips, Sampson, 1856. 
  • ---. A Key to Uncle Tom's Cabin; Presenting the Original Facts and Documents upon which the Story is Founded. Together with Corroborative Statements Verifying the Truth of the Work. Boston; Cleveland, O.: J.P. Jewett & Co.; Jewett, Proctor & Worthington, 1853.
  • ---. Uncle Tom's Cabin: Or, Negro Life in the Slave States of America. London: C. H. Clarke, 1852.
  • United States Sanitary Commission. Narrative of Privations and Sufferings of United States Officers and Soldiers while Prisoners of War in the Hands of the Rebel Authorities. Philadelphia: King & Baird, 1864. 
  • United States. Congress (39th, 2nd session: 1866-1867). House, and Andrew Dickson White. Murder of Union Soldiers. Vol. 23. Washington: 1867.
  • Von Borcke, Heros. Memoirs of the Confederate War for Independence. Edinburgh, London: W. Blackwood and Sons, 1866. 
  • Wilson, Rufus Rockwell. What Lincoln Read. Washington, D.C.: 1932.