Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

CWU Special Collections

This guide describes the special collections of Brooks Library at Central Washington University.

NPRR

The Northern Pacific Railroad

The following subject guide represents only a small portion of our collections, and does not represent all of the subject strengths of our collections. Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections-- many other sources can be found in other departments of the Library.

Though every attempt will be made to keep these guides current, please keep in mind that our collections are growing daily and we add titles in all subjects on an ongoing basis. If you would like to find out more about items in Special Collections or have a specific reference question, please email us at archive@cwu.edu.


Subject Guide to The Northern Pacific Railroad
Central Washington University
Special Collections
November 2006
Prepared by Anne Bahde

  • Northern Pacific Railroad charter and amendments. Philadelphia : Jay Cooke, 1870. HE2791.N61 1870.
  • The Northern Pacific Railroad’s land grant and the future business of the road. Philadelphia : Jay Cooke, 1870. HE2791.N65.
  • The Northern Pacific Railroad: its route, resources, progress and business: the new Northwest and its great thoroughfare. Philadelphia : Jay Cooke, 1871. HE2791.N857 1871b and F852.N6.
  • Winser, Henry J. The Great Northwest: a guide-book and itinerary for the use of tourists and travelers. New York : G. P. Putnam’s Sons, 1883. F597.W77.
  • The official Northern Pacific Railroad guide for the use of tourists and travelers. St. Paul , MN : W. C. Riley, 1892. F597.W79 1892 and F597.W79 1897.
  • Wheeler, Olin Dunbar. 6,000 miles through wonderland, being a description of the marvelous region traversed by the Northern Pacific Railroad. Chicago: Rand McNally, 1893. E168.W4.
  • Haskell, Charles. On reconnaissance for the great Northern. New York : New York Public Library, 1948. HE2791.G775 H3.