Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

CWU Special Collections

This guide describes the special collections of Brooks Library at Central Washington University.

Special Collections at Brooks Library

Special Collections
Rare and unique books include those on regional literature, Native American history, children’s literature, Central Washington University history, and works by regional authors.

 

Reading room user guidelines

  • Upon entering the archives reading room, researchers must sign-in and complete a researcher form (PDF). We encourage reserachers to bring the completed form to your appointment. 
  • Pencils, notebooks, loose-leaf paper, and laptop computers are allowed in the reading room. Pens are not allowed. Pencils are available for researcher use.
  • As a courtesy to other researchers, cell phones must be turned off or on inaudible vibrate.
  • Food and drinks are not permitted in the reading room.
  • Use of cameras and scanning equipment are not permitted, unless by special permission of the University Archivist.
  • No library materials or personal items may be brought into the reading room, including coats, briefcases, backpacks, computer cases, and purses. All library and personal items must be left by the entrance of the archives or stored in one of its available lockers.
  • Materials in the archives do not circulate and cannot be taken out of the archives.
  • Researchers assume all responsibilities, familiarity, and understanding of current ownership, U.S. copyright laws and fair use guidelines.
  • Duplication and imaging requests must be completed and in compliance with the Washington Administrative Code (WAC) and Title 17 of the United States Copyright Law.
  • Duplication and imaging requests may be declined if materials are too fragile or may become damaged in the duplication or imaging process.
  • Central Washington University retains all copyright and ownership to materials in the Archives & Special Collections.