The following subject guides represent only a small portion of our collections, and do not represent every subject strength in our collections. Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections - many other sources can be found in other departments of the Library.
Though every attempt will be made to keep these guides current, please keep in mind that our collections are growing daily and we add titles in all subjects on an ongoing basis. If you would like to find out more about items in Special Collections or have a specific reference question, please email us at email@example.com.
Subject Guide to The Yakama Indians
Central Washington University
Prepared by Anne Taylor
Beavert , Virginia, and Consortium of Johnson O'Malley Committees of Region IV, State of Washington. The Way It Was: Anaku Iwacha: Yakima Legends: Teacher's Curriculum Guide. Toppenish, Wash.: Franklin Press, 1974. E99.Y2 W38.
Beavert , Virginia, and Consortium of Johnson ''Malley Committees of Region IV, State of Washington. Yakima Language Practical Dictionary. Toppenish, Wash.: Consortium of Johnson O'Malley Committees, 1975. PM2611.Y34.
Bischoff, William N., and George Wright. The Yakima Campaign of 1856. S.L.:, 1949. F897.Y18 B57.
Guie, Heister Dean. Tribal Days of the Yakimas. Yakima, Wash.: Republic Publishing Company, 1937. E99.Y2 G8.
Johnson, Inez Noelle. Yakima: A Novel. 1st ed. New York: Pageant Press, 1954. PS3519.O2618 Y3 1954.
Kelly, Plympton J., William N. Bischoff, and Washington State Historical Society. We Were Not Summer Soldiers: The Indian War Diary of Plympton J. Kelly, 1855-1856. Tacoma: Washington State Historical Society, 1976. E83.84.K44.
McGavran, Grace Winifred, and Janet Smalley. Yakima Boy. New York: Friendship Press, 1952. 813.M144y.
McWhorter, Lucullus Virgil. The Crime Against the Yakimas. 1st ed. North Yakima , Wash.: Republic Print, 1913. E99.Y2 M2.
---. Tragedy of the Wahk-Shum; Prelude to the Yakima Indian War, 1855-56; the Killing of Major Andrew J. Bolon; Eyewitness Account by Su-El-Lil, Locating the Place of Bolon's Death; and Indian Legends. Addendum: Definition of " Yakima " ... Introduction by H. D. Guie. Yakima, Wash.: Priv. pub. by L. V. McWhorter, 1937. E99.Y2 M3.
Pace, Robert E., and Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Indian Nation of the Yakama Reservation. Tribal Council. The Land of the Yakimas. Toppenish, Wash.: Yakima Indian Nation Tribal Council, 1977. E99.Y2 P32.
Pace, Robert E. Yakima Indian Nation Bibliography. Yakima: Yakima Indian Nation Media Services, 1978. Z1210.Y3 P115.
Pandosy, Charles Marie. Grammar and Dictionary of the Yakama Language. New York: AMS Press, 1970. PM2611.P3 1970.
Relander, Click, Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Indian Nation of the Yakama Reservation. Tribal Council, and United States. Treaty Centennial,1855-1955, the Yakimas. 1st ed. Yakima, Wash.: Republic Press, 1955. E99.Y2 R4.
Relander, Click. Strangers on the Land; a Historiette of a Longer Story of the Yakima Indian Nation's Efforts to Survive Against Great Odds. Yakima, Wash.: Franklin Press, 1962. E99.Y2 R39.
Relander, Click. Drummers and Dreamers. Caldwell, Id.: Caxton Press, 1986. E99.W26 R4.
Splawn, Andrew Jackson. Ka-Mi-Akin, the Last Hero of the Yakimas. Portland, Or.: Kilham Stationery & Printing Co., 1917. E99.Y2 K15.
Strong, James Clark. Wah-Kee-Nah and Her People: The Curious Customs, Traditions, and Legends of the North American Indians. New York: G. P. Putnam, 1893. E77.S92.
Uebelacker, Morris Leo, and Jeffery S. Wilson. Time Ball: A Story of the Yakima People and the Land: A Cultural Resource Overview. Yakima , Wash.: The Yakima Nation, 1984. E99.Y2 U43 1984.
Waterman, T. T. Indian Notes and Monographs. New York: Museum of the American Indian, 1921. E98.D9 W3.
Willard, Helen. Pow-Wow, and Other Yakima Indian Traditions. 1st ed. Prosser, Wash.: Roza Run Pub. Co., 1990. E99.Y2 W54 1990.
Winder, R. M. Study of the Revival of the Arts and Crafts of the Yakima Indian Nation. Ellensburg, Wash.: Central Washington University, 1969. LD5771.31.W56.