LibGuides: CWU Special Collections: Darwin Goodey Native and Western American Art, Culture, and History collection

The following subject guide represents only a small portion of our collections, and does not represent all of the subject strengths of our collections. Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections-- many other sources can be found in other departments of the Library.

Though every attempt will be made to keep these guides current, please keep in mind that our collections are growing daily and we add titles in all subjects on an ongoing basis. If you would like to find out more about items in Special Collections or have a specific reference question, please email us at archive@cwu.edu.

Subject Guide to Pioneer Narratives of Central Washington
Central Washington University
Special Collections
July 2006, updated November 2006
Prepared by Anne Taylor

General

Clarke, S. A. Pioneer Days of Oregon History. Portland : J. K. Gill, 1905.
Meany, Edmond S. Living Pioneers of Washington. Seattle : Seattle Genealogical Society.
Miller, Gail. On Stage with Washington Women . Pullman , WA : Washington State University Press, 1981.
Northwest Black Pioneers: A Centennial Tribute . Seattle : Centennial Commission, 1988.
Told by the Pioneers: Tales of Frontier Life as Told by Those Who Remember the Days of the Territory and Early Statehood. Olympia: WPA, 1937-1938.

Benton

Harris, Mary Powell. Goodbye, White Bluffs. Yakima, Franklin Press, 1972.

Chelan

Anderson, Eva Greenslit. Pioneers of North Central Washington. Wenatchee : Wenatchee World, 1944.
Anderson, Eva Greenslit. John A. Gellatly, First Citizen. Wenatchee: Wenatchee World, 1947.
Anderson, Eva Greenslit. Jacob Miller, Perennial Pioneer. Wenatchee : Wenatchee World, 1953.
Anderson, Eva Greenslit. The Shotwell Story. Wenatchee : Wenatchee World, 1953.
Anderson, Eva Greenslit. Charles F. Keiser, the Pioneer with a Yen for Work. Wenatchee : Wenatchee World, 1954.
Anderson, Eva Greenslit. E. T. Pybus, the Ingenious Pioneer. Wenatchee: Wenatchee World, 1954.
Anderson, Eva Greenslit. C. Clarence Ward, Pioneer Surveyor. Wenatchee: Wenatchee World, 1956.
Anderson, Eva Greenslit. Dr. Isaac Hubbard, Manson’s Pioneer Doctor. Wenatchee: Wenatchee World, n. d.
Gellatly, Bernice. The Story of John A. Gellatly. Wenatchee : Wenatchee World, 1973.
Johnson, Margaret Walton. Above the Millpond: Early Days of Leavenworth in the 1920s. Omak: Walter Johnson, 2002.
Scheuerman, Richard. The Wenatchee Valley and Its First Peoples. Walla Walla: Color Press, 2005.
Van Voorhis, Ford. Homesteaders of Chelan Butte. Portland : Binfords and Mort, 1984.

Douglas

Lewis, William. Early Days in the Big Bend Country. Spokane: W. D. Allen, 1926.

Grant

Allred, Ellis. Mid-Twentieth Century Pioneering on the Royal Slope of Central Washington. Ellensburg: Central Washington University, 1996.
Hormel, Monty. The Old West In Grant County. Ephrata, WA: Tamanawahs Publishing, 1990.

Kittitas

Fleming, Edna. Ah, Kittitas! Yakima: Franklin Press, 1969.
Fulton, Arabella. Tales of the Trail. Montreal: Payette Radio Limited.
Glauert, Earl T., ed. Kittitas Frontiersmen. Ellensburg: Ellensburg Public Library, 1976.
Hagerty, Bernice Lund. Pioneers of the Kittitas Valley. Ellensburg: the author, 2005.
Paul , Virginia. Standing by the Side of Your Arm. Ellensburg: Record Printing, 1996.
Smith, Clareta Olmstead. The Trail Leads West. Philadelphia: Dorrance and Company, 1946.
Smith, Clareta Olmstead. Campfires in the Valley. Wenatchee: Wenatchee World, 1976.
Smith, Leta May. The End of the Trail. Hicksville, NY: Exposition Press, 1976.
The Thousandth American. Corvallis: Edwin C. Earp, 1935.

Klickitat

Ballou, Robert. Early Klickitat Valley Days. Goldendale: Goldendale Sentinel, 1938.
Emigh, Frank. Pioneer Life of the Emigh Family: Two Accounts of the Overland Journey from California to Klickitat County, Washington Territory. Wyandotte, OK: Gregath, 2001.
Fleming, Neila Binford. Sketches of Early High Prairie. Portland : Binfords and Mort, 1949?
Jenson, Hazel Addie. Across the Years: Pioneer Stories of Southern Washington. S. n.: the author, 1951.
May, Peter. History of Klickitat County. Goldendale: Klickitat County Historical Society, 1982.

Okanogan

Brown, William C. Early Okanogan History. Okanogan: Okanogan Independent, 1911.
Fries, U. E. From Copenhagen to Okanogan. Caldwell, ID: Caxton Printers, 1951.
Harris, Jana. Oh How Can I Keep Singing? Voices of Pioneer Women. Princeton: Ontario Review Press, 1993.
Holloway, Bob. Desert of Dreams. Selah: Selah Publishing Group,
Lindblad, Frank W. A Pioneer’s Ballad of Days before the Grand Coulee Dam. N. p. : the author, 1961.
Portman, Sally. Smiling Country: A History of Methow Valley . Winthrop , WA: Sun Mountain, 1993.
Waring, Guy. My Pioneer Past. Boston: B. Humphries, 1936.
Wilson, Bruce. Late Frontier. Okanogan: Okanogan Historical Society, 1990.
Glimpses of pioneer life. A series of biographies, experiences and events intimately concerned with the settlement of Okanogan County , Washington. Okanogan: Okanogan Independent, 1924.
Mazama, the Past 100 Years: Life and Events of the Upper Methow Valley and Early Winters. Seattle : Peanut Butter Publishing, 1997.
Trails and Tales of the Early Day Settlers of North-eastern Okanogan County. Colville: Statesman-Examiner, 1982.

Yakima

Biarke, Neils. Naches Pass Trail. Tacoma: Fern Hill Historical Society, 1942.
Holt, Howard P. Saddlebag Medicine. Yakima: Yakima Valley Museum Shop, 1984.
Nelson, Jack. We Never Got Away. Yakima: Franklin Press, 1965.
Skinner, Barbara A. The Sandpile. Prosser: Barry Books, 2002.

Darwin Goodey Native and Western American Art, Culture, and History

The Darwin Goodey Native and Western American Art, Culture, and History collection consists of books on Native American history, culture and art. It also encompasses published works on 19th-century western American history and art with a strong focus on the Pacific Northwest. See the following guides for examples of this material:

Native Americans (Yakamas)

The following subject guides represent only a small portion of our collections, and do not represent every subject strength in our collections. Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections - many other sources can be found in other departments of the Library.

Subject Guide to The Yakama Indians
Central Washington University
Special Collections
November 2006
Prepared by Anne Taylor

Beavert , Virginia, and Consortium of Johnson O'Malley Committees of Region IV, State of Washington. The Way It Was: Anaku Iwacha: Yakima Legends: Teacher's Curriculum Guide. Toppenish, Wash.: Franklin Press, 1974. E99.Y2 W38.

Beavert , Virginia, and Consortium of Johnson ''Malley Committees of Region IV, State of Washington. Yakima Language Practical Dictionary. Toppenish, Wash.: Consortium of Johnson O'Malley Committees, 1975. PM2611.Y34.

Bischoff, William N., and George Wright. The Yakima Campaign of 1856. S.L.:, 1949. F897.Y18 B57.

Guie, Heister Dean. Tribal Days of the Yakimas. Yakima, Wash.: Republic Publishing Company, 1937. E99.Y2 G8.

Johnson, Inez Noelle. Yakima: A Novel. 1st ed. New York: Pageant Press, 1954. PS3519.O2618 Y3 1954.

Kelly, Plympton J., William N. Bischoff, and Washington State Historical Society. We Were Not Summer Soldiers: The Indian War Diary of Plympton J. Kelly, 1855-1856. Tacoma: Washington State Historical Society, 1976. E83.84.K44.

McGavran, Grace Winifred, and Janet Smalley. Yakima Boy. New York: Friendship Press, 1952. 813.M144y.

McWhorter, Lucullus Virgil. The Crime Against the Yakimas. 1st ed. North Yakima , Wash.: Republic Print, 1913. E99.Y2 M2.

---. Tragedy of the Wahk-Shum; Prelude to the Yakima Indian War, 1855-56; the Killing of Major Andrew J. Bolon; Eyewitness Account by Su-El-Lil, Locating the Place of Bolon's Death; and Indian Legends. Addendum: Definition of " Yakima " ... Introduction by H. D. Guie. Yakima, Wash.: Priv. pub. by L. V. McWhorter, 1937. E99.Y2 M3.

Pace, Robert E., and Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Indian Nation of the Yakama Reservation. Tribal Council. The Land of the Yakimas. Toppenish, Wash.: Yakima Indian Nation Tribal Council, 1977. E99.Y2 P32.

Pace, Robert E. Yakima Indian Nation Bibliography. Yakima: Yakima Indian Nation Media Services, 1978. Z1210.Y3 P115.

Pandosy, Charles Marie. Grammar and Dictionary of the Yakama Language. New York: AMS Press, 1970. PM2611.P3 1970.

Relander, Click, Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Indian Nation of the Yakama Reservation. Tribal Council, and United States. Treaty Centennial,1855-1955, the Yakimas. 1st ed. Yakima, Wash.: Republic Press, 1955. E99.Y2 R4.

Relander, Click. Strangers on the Land; a Historiette of a Longer Story of the Yakima Indian Nation's Efforts to Survive Against Great Odds. Yakima, Wash.: Franklin Press, 1962. E99.Y2 R39.

Relander, Click. Drummers and Dreamers. Caldwell, Id.: Caxton Press, 1986. E99.W26 R4.

Splawn, Andrew Jackson. Ka-Mi-Akin, the Last Hero of the Yakimas. Portland, Or.: Kilham Stationery & Printing Co., 1917. E99.Y2 K15.

Strong, James Clark. Wah-Kee-Nah and Her People: The Curious Customs, Traditions, and Legends of the North American Indians. New York: G. P. Putnam, 1893. E77.S92.

Uebelacker, Morris Leo, and Jeffery S. Wilson. Time Ball: A Story of the Yakima People and the Land: A Cultural Resource Overview. Yakima , Wash.: The Yakima Nation, 1984. E99.Y2 U43 1984.

Waterman, T. T. Indian Notes and Monographs. New York: Museum of the American Indian, 1921. E98.D9 W3.

Willard, Helen. Pow-Wow, and Other Yakima Indian Traditions. 1st ed. Prosser, Wash.: Roza Run Pub. Co., 1990. E99.Y2 W54 1990.

Winder, R. M. Study of the Revival of the Arts and Crafts of the Yakima Indian Nation. Ellensburg, Wash.: Central Washington University, 1969. LD5771.31.W56.