Skip to Main Content
Ask CWU Libraries
CWU Libraries Home

CWU Special Collections

This guide describes the special collections of Brooks Library at Central Washington University.

CWU History

Central Washington University History

The Central Washington University History collection contains published materials documenting the history of Central and its programs. Materials include college bulletins, yearbooks, institutional histories, and faculty publications. Click here for Further information about the history of CWU

Early Central Washington University Textbooks

The following subject guide represents only a small portion of our collections, and does not represent all of the subject strengths of our collections. Please remember that the listed titles are only those in Special Collections-- many other sources can be found in other departments of the Library.

Though every attempt will be made to keep these guides current, please keep in mind that our collections are growing daily and we add titles in all subjects on an ongoing basis. Items appearing on lists without call numbers have not yet been catalogued; however, they are still accessible to interested researchers. If you would like to find out more about items in Special Collections or have a specific reference question, please email us at archive@cwu.edu.

Subject Guide to Early CWU Textbooks
Central Washington University
Special Collections
July 2006

Sixteen of the First 100 Books Purchased for the Washington State Normal School Library Still Remaining in the Collection

  • Book #50. Arnott, Neil. Elements of Physics, or Natural Philosophy . London: Longman and Rees 1828. QC21 A7 1828
  • Book #76. Comstock, J. L. A System of Natural Philosophy. New York: D. Appleton, 1897. QC23 C75 1837
  • Book #70. Dresser, Horatio. The Power of Silence . New York: G. P. Putnam's Sons, 1899. BF639 D7 1899
  • Book #45. Everett , J. D. Elementary treatise on natural philosophy : based on the Traité de physique of A. Privat-Deschanel. New York: D. Appleton, 1897. QC21 D4 1897
  • Book #73. Harris, George. Inequality and Progress. New York: Houghton Mifflin, 1897. HM146 H3
  • Book #74. Hudson, Thomson Jay. The Law of Psychic Phenomena . Chicago: A. C. McClurg, 1898. BF1031 .H86 1898
  • Book #58. Huxley, Thomas. Physiography . New York: Macmillan, 1897. GB54 H9 1897
  • Book #75. Krusi, Herman. Life of Pestalozzi . New York: American Book Company, 1875.  LB627 K9
  • Book #92. Olmstead, Denison. An Introduction to Natural Philosophy, Designed as a Text Book . New York: Collins, Brother and Co., 1844. QC21 .O5 1844
  • Book #61. Thurston, Robert. Heat as a Form of Energy . New York: Houghton Mifflin, 1890. QC257 .T54
  • Book #56. Tyndall, John. Forms of Water. New York: D. Appleton, 1872. QE576 T97 1872a
  • Book #50. Tyndall, John. Lessons in Electricity. New York: D. Appleton, 1898. LT305 T83
  • Book #51. Tyndall, John. Light and Electricity . New York: D. Appleton, 1895. QC361 .T98 1895
  • Book #52. Tyndall, John. On Sound . New York: D. Appleton, 1897. QC225 T99
  • Book #49. Waldo, Frank. Modern Meteorology . New York: Scribner, 1894. QC855 W3