Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

History, Trans-Mississippi American West

This guide cites primary and secondary sources relevant to the history of the United States west of the Mississippi River.

Women in the West

Abigail Scott Duniway Collections (Lewis and Clark College): Duniway played an important role in women's rights advocacy in the West. Included in this collection are digitized versions of her books including: From the West to the West; David and Anna Matson; Oregon: Land of Promise; Path Breaking; and Captain Gray's Company.

Eva Greenslit Anderson Papers (CWU Archives): Anderson (1889–1972) was an educator, school district administrator, clubwoman, and state legislator in central Washington state. This collection of speeches, scrapbooks, and correspondence chronicles Anderson's interests in education, youth, women, politics, and church.

Home Economics Archive (Cornell University Library): This digital archive contains essays, bibliographies, and the full text of many books and journals on home economics and related disciplines.

The Real Rosie the Riveter Project (New York University): This site offers 48 interviews with women who worked in factories during World War II.

Rosie the Riveter: WWII American Homefront Project (UC Berkeley): This site provides interviews with Bay Area, CA, residents who recounted their experiences on the homefront during World War II.

"There Are No Renters Here": Homesteading in a Sod House (Women of the West Museum): This exhibit uses letters, maps, and photographs to tell the story of Mattie Oblinger, who left Indiana with her husband and daughter to start a homestead in Nebraska.

Women Working, 1800-1930 (Harvard University Library): This digital archive contains books, magazines, trade catalogs, pamphlets, and photos documenting the role of women in the workforce. Select regions from this list to find materials specific to the western United States.