Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

History, Trans-Mississippi American West

This guide cites primary and secondary sources relevant to the history of the United States west of the Mississippi River.

California history

Calisphere (University of California): This site hosts thousands of photographs, documents, works of art, and other historical materials contributed by 122 Californian archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies.

Online Archive of California: This site provides descriptions of primary resource collections held at libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California. Portions of some collections are made available digitally while others are only summarized.

Regional Oral History Office: As a division of the Bancroft Library, this office documents the history of California and the West through audio/video interviews. Interview topics include politics and government, law and jurisprudence, arts and letters, business and labor, social and community history, University of California history, natural resources and the environment, science, medicine, and technology.

Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive: This archive contains interviews relevant to topics like women's social history; labor and ethnic studies; Long Beach, CA, history; and musical developments in southern California.