Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

History, Trans-Mississippi American West

This guide cites primary and secondary sources relevant to the history of the United States west of the Mississippi River.

Labor in the West

1934 International Longshoremen's Association and General Strikes of San Francisco (Bancroft Library. University of California, Berkeley): The General Strike of San Francisco occurred July 16-19, 1934, as an outgrowth of the International Longshoremen's Association strike. Some digitized content available--see link to online items.

America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915 (Library of Congress): This collection comprises 150 motion pictures, which show the United States Postal Service, cattle breeding, fire fighters, ice manufacturing, logging, calisthenic and gymnastic exercises in schools, amusement parks, boxing, expositions, football, parades, swimming, and other sporting events.

The Bisbee Deportation, 1917 (University of Arizona): The Bisbee Deportation of 1917 was an event specific to Arizona that influenced the labor movement throughout the United States. What started as a labor dispute between copper mining companies and their workers turned into vigilante action against the allegedly nefarious activities of the Industrial Workers of the World (I.W.W.). This site is a research-based collection of primary and secondary sources for the study of the deportation of over 1,000 striking miners from Bisbee on July 12, 1917.

Centralia Massacre Collection (University of Washington)
: This digital collection of pamphlets, leaflets and letters, originally held by the now defunct I.W.W. Seattle Office, focuses on the Centralia Massacre of 1919 in Centralia, Washington.

Civilian Conservation Corps in Idaho (Idaho State Historical Society)
: Images of camps, projects, and participants in the CCC during the Great Depression in Idaho.

Ellensburg Rodeo: For more on the Ellensburg Rodeo, and its participants, please see this subject guide.

Frederick Krueger Collection (Central Washington University): This collection consists of subject files, photographs, oral histories, and maps that document life in the Upper Kittitas Valley of Washington state from the middle of the 19th century to the early 20th century. Of special note are materials on coal mining in the Roslyn, WA, area. This collection can be accessed at the CWU Archives, 4th floor, Brooks Library.

Homer B. Splawn Papers, 1860-2007 (Central Washington University): This collection, created by the Splawn family of Yakima, WA, provides insights about ranching, politics, women's roles, and Native Americans in Washington state. The collection can be accessed at the CWU Archives, 4th floor, Brooks Library.

Kittitas County Central Labor Council Records, 1939-1998: Included in this collection are union records, meeting minutes, financial receipts, bank statements, deposit records, labor publications, member registers, membership cards, and delegate information. Collection held at CWU Archives, 4th floor, Brooks Library.

Labor Archives of Washington (University of Washington)
: This digital archive includes primary source material on Pacific Northwest labor history. Topics include the I.W.W. in the Pacific Northwest, labor and the New Deal, cannery worker unionism, and the Seattle General Strike of 1919.

Mining in Idaho (Idaho State Historical Society): Comprises images and materials documenting mining in Idaho.

Mining in the Pacific Northwest
: For more on mining in the Northwest, please see this subject guide.

Strike! Labor History Encyclopedia for the Pacific Northwest (University of Washington)
: This website provides descriptions of primary source material related to labor history in the Pacific Northwest.

WTO Seattle Collection (University of Washington): The protests depicted in this digital collection took place between November 29, 1999 and December 3, 1999, when the World Trade Organization (WTO) held its ministerial meeting in Seattle. This collection of images was chosen to illustrate both the diversity of the protests and the mobilization efforts that brought so many activists to Seattle.