Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

History, Trans-Mississippi American West

This guide cites primary and secondary sources relevant to the history of the United States west of the Mississippi River.

Pacific Northwest history

Alaska, Western Canada and United States Collection (University of Washington): This digital collection features historic photographs documenting the geographic area of Alaska, the western United States and the Canadian provinces of Yukon Territory and British Columbia. The collection features images of Oregon, Idaho, and areas of interest in Alaska and the Yukon Territory relating to the Gold Rush of 1898-1900.

Brooks Library Digital Collections (Central Washington University): These collections document the history of Central Washington University, as well as the central Washington region. Included are images of Grand Coulee Dam, campus yearbooks and newspapers, CWU Board of Trustee meeting minutes, oral histories about local coal mining, photos of Ellensburg and nearby towns, and interviews with CWU faculty and community members.

Digital Collections (University of Washington): See these collections for thousands of photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media on topics relevant to the Pacific Northwest.

Eric A. Hegg Photographs (University of Washington): Photographs documenting the Klondike and Alaska gold rushes from 1897 - 1901. Images include depictions of frontier life in Dawson City, the Yukon Territory, and Skagway and Nome, Alaska.

Journeys to the past : historical documents of Washington / prepared by the staff of the Washington State Archives: This book is located in the CWU Archives, 4th floor, Brooks Library. Call number: F891 J68 1983.

Message of the Governor of Washington Territory [microform]. Also, the correspondence with the secretary of war, Major Gen. Wool, the officers of the regular army, and of the volunteer service of Washington Territory: Located in Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms, 3rd floor, Brooks Library. Call number: MM-641.

Washington State Digital Archives
: This digital archives is dedicated to the preservation of electronic records from both state and local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value in Washington state. Archival materials include audits, death records, birth records, property records, maps, surveys, family histories, court cases, and more.

WSU Archives Digital Collections: Includes photographs, documents, and maps on the history of eastern Washington, Native Americans, and more.