Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

History, Trans-Mississippi American West

This guide cites primary and secondary sources relevant to the history of the United States west of the Mississippi River.

Southwest history

Annals of the city of Kansas [microform]: Published in 1848, this account considers agricultural, mineral and commercial resources in western Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, and New Mexico in the mid-nineteenth century. Located in Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms, 3rd floor, Brooks Library. Call number: MH-351, LAC 15350.

Arizona Memory Project: This site provides government documents, photographs, maps, and objects that chronicle Arizona's past and present. Libraries, archives, museums and cultural institutions from across the state participate in the project.

Autry National Center of the American West: Autry provides this database containing data and images of items from the collections of museums, libraries, and archives. Materials include art, tools and utensils used in daily life and ranching, decorative arts, firearms and armaments, clothing and accessories, cultural materials including American Indian ethnographic collections, historic photographs and photographs from Western movies, manuscript collections, ephemera, and books.

Campaigns of the Rio Grande and of Mexico [microform] : with notices of the recent work of Major Ripley
: Published in 1851. An account of the Mexican War, 1846-1848. Located in Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms, 3rd floor, Brooks Library. Call number: MH-351, LAC 16384.

Elements of military art and science [microform] : or, Course of instruction in strategy, fortification, tactics of battles
: Published in 1863. Contains notes on the Mexican War, 1846-1848. Located in Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms, 3rd floor, Brooks Library. Call number: MH-351, LAC 14347.

Letters of Gen. Scott and Secretary Marcy relating to the Mexican War [microform]
: Published in 1848. Relates to the Mexican War, 1846-1848. Located in Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms, 3rd floor, Brooks Library. Call number: MH-351, LAC 40150

Letters of Zachary Taylor [microform] : from the battle-fields of the Mexican War:
Published in 1908. With reference to the Mexican War, 1846-1848. Located in Government Publications, Maps, and Microforms, 3rd floor, Brooks Library. Call number: MH-351, LAC 16831.

Nevada History Digital Collections (University of Nevada Las Vegas): Digital collections include menus, photographs, oral histories, and documents on topics like showgirls, aviation, water, and ethnic identity in Nevada.

Portal to Texas History: This site serves as a gateway to Texas history materials, including photos, books, maps, newspapers, and documents.