Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

History, Trans-Mississippi American West

This guide cites primary and secondary sources relevant to the history of the United States west of the Mississippi River.

Asian Americans in the West

Children of Minidoka (University of Washington): This exhibit uses student essays, photos, and newsletters to document the lives of Japanese American children at Minidoka relocation camp.

The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 (Library of Congress)
: This digital exhibit provides access to books, pamphlets, prints, photographs, manuscripts, and sheet music on the history of Chinese people in California.

Densho Archive: Japanese American Legacy Project:
This digital archive holds over 550 visual histories and over 10,800 historic photos, documents, and newspapers. These primary sources document the Japanese American experience from immigration in the early 1900s through redress in the 1980s with a strong focus on the World War II mass incarceration.

Internment of San Francisco Japanese (Virtual Museum of the City of San Francisco)
: This exhibit includes articles from the San Francisco News, March to April 1942, reporting on Japanese internment. The site also includes reports and photographs of internment camps.

Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (Calisphere): This exhibit includes personal and official photographs, letters and diaries, transcribed oral histories, and artwork created by Japanese Americans who were interned during World War II.

Korean American Digital Archive (University of Southern California): This archive includes thousands of documents, photographs, and oral histories about the experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965. Some materials may only be available on site at the University of Southern California.

SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience (UC Irvine): This resource provides access to primary and other resource material focusing on the experience of post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam.

South Asian Oral History Project (University of Washington): This digital archive contains interviews with individuals who immigrated from South Asia to the Seattle area during the 1950s-1980s.