Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

HIST 481 - Senior Thesis

This guide suggests resources for students completing a senior thesis in HIST 481. Emphasis is on visual resources relevant to world history.

Statistical agencies

AgStats, National Agricultural Statistics Service collects, analyzes, reports, archives data related to all things related to Agriculture.

Bureau of Economic Analysis search for data related to economic growth, regional economic development, industry analysis; GDP; and the international development.

Bureau of Justice Statistics provides data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Bureau of Labor Statistics labor market activity, working conditions, and other employment data.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics reports data related to transportation.

Census Bureau collects, analyzes, and develops statistical reports and data for many federal agencies related to demographics, housing, business, manufacturing, etc.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention a conduit for health studies, research, analyses, and statistical reports.

Childstats provides data related to  children and families in the broadest sense.

Congressional Budget Office provides Congress with financial analyses of proposed legislation. Reports may be searched or browsed by subject.

Data.gov is a single interface to allow users to locate, download and utilize federal datasets.

Defense Management Data Center provides military and civilian defense personnel and casualty statistics.

Election Statistics provides official vote counts for federal elections since 1920 from the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives

Energy Information Administration gathers data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports and prices.

ForeignAssistance was created by the Paris accord “aims to incorporate budget, financial, and award data in a standard format from all U.S. government agencies managing foreign assistance funds and program.” There are nearly 300 “custom curated data performance indicators” available for data mining and visualization.

Microdata Analysis (Used to be DataFerret) from the Census Bureau which brings together demographic, economic, environmental, health, and other datasets that are usually separated by geography and/or organization

National Center for Education Statistics collects statistics and provides reports related to education, literacy and libraries.

National Center for Health Statistics addresses statistics, analysis, and reports on diseases,  conditions, injuries, births and deaths; insurance, medical facilities; and more.

Office of Immigration Statistics provides data reports on immigrants by legal status.

USA.gov allows browsing by broad topic.