Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

HIST 481 - Senior Thesis

This guide suggests resources for students completing a senior thesis in HIST 481. Emphasis is on visual resources relevant to world history.

Digital collections: Latin America

Archivos Fotográficos (National Library of Peru)
This archives includes photographs of life in Peru from the mid-19th to mid-20th centuries.

Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña (University of Puerto Rico)
This collection includes thousands of digitized postcards, photographs, cartoons, and drawings related to the history of Puerto Rico from the 19th century to the present.

Bracero History Archive (Center for History and New Media)
This digital archive contains oral histories and images relating to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that ran from 1942 to 1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in the United States.

Caribbean Views (British Library)
This collection presents images and maps from the 18th and 19th centuries that document life in the former British West Indies.

Cuban Photograph Collections (University of Miami)
This collection includes over 5,000 photographs which span a wide range of historical topics related to Cuba and the Cuban Diaspora.

Deena Stryker Photographs (Duke University)
This collection presents hundreds of photographs taken in Cuba during the 1960s.

Expeditions and Discoveries (Harvard University)

This collection includes photographs from nine late-19th and early-20th-century scientific expeditions to Latin America and Asia.

Latin America and the Caribbean: Prints, Photographs (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of archives, libraries, and organizations.

Latin American Posters Collection (Princeton University)
This collection comprises posters created by social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America. Topics include human rights, elections, gender issues, indigenous issues, labor, ecology and environmental issues, development, public health, and education.

The Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs (NYPL)
This collection contains photographs and prints from rare 19th-century books that present the territories and countries associated with Portugal and Spain in the New World, from Mexico to Argentina, and parts of the Caribbean.

The Mapas Project (University of Oregon)

This collection presents colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts--documents that used images to show territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.

Tobacco Art Collection (University of Miami)
Spanning the late 19th and 20th centuries, the Tobacco Art Collection contains art and ephemera associated with the Cuban tobacco industry. Items include commercial tobacco packaging labels, cigar trademarks, several cigar bands, and two cigar boxes.