Asia, Pacific & Africa Collections (British Library)
Begun by the East India Company in 1801, this collection of images provides a survey of the landscape and architectural heritage of South Asia from the late-18th to mid-20th centuries.
Asia Through a Lens (National Archives, United Kingdom)
Comprises images taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection at the National Archives. The collection includes scenes from across the Asian continent, including China, Malaysia and Sri Lanka.
Cambodian Genocide Program (Yale University)
This site includes photographs of victims in the Cambodian genocide of 1975-1979.
Central and South Asia: Photographs, Prints (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of libraries and archives.
The Claire Holt Papers (Cornell)
This collection comprises approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia, which were created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project. Subjects include art, architecture, ceremonies, landscapes, painting, people, sculpture, textiles, and theater.
Digital South Asia Library (University of Chicago and Center for Research Libraries)
This digital library includes thousands of photos depicting agriculture, crafts, architecture, and more in South Asia.
Dutch East Indies in Photographs, 1860-1940 (Koninklijke Bibliotheek)
This collection consists of some 3000 photographs from the period from 1860 to 1940 in Indonesia. Most of these photos were taken by professionals who photographed landscapes and street life, houses and factories, groups and individuals.
Indonesia independent, Photographs 1947-1953 (Koninklijke Bibliotheek)
In January and February 1947, the photographers and friends Cas Oorthuys and Charles Breijer both travelled to Indonesia independently and captured various stages of the Dutch decolonisation process. This collection contains more than 4500 photographs and album pages by these photographers.
KITLV Digital Media Library (Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences)
This digital archive contains thousands of images portraying Dutch colonial life--much of it in Indonesia.
National Archives of Singapore
This archives includes a collection of images from public offices such as the former Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts (MICA), Singapore Tourism Board and the Istana. These photographs capture official and other events relating to Singapore throughout the 20th century.
Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL)
This digital library features materials, including images, published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
SouthEast Asian Images & Texts (University of Wisconsin)
This digital archive contains photographs depicting the Philippines, Laos, and Cambodia.
Southeast Asia (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of libraries and archives.
Williams Afghan Media Project (Williams College)
This site documents Afghan history and society in image and sound from the late 19th century through the Soviet occupation.
Ask CWU Libraries