Botanical and Cultural Images of Eastern Asia, 1907-1927 (Arnold Arboretum, Harvard University)
Travelers returned to the United States with plant specimens and these photographs of plants, people, and landscapes in eastern Asia.
Chinese Pamphlets: Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China (Center for Research Libraries)
This collection comprises cartoons, pamphlets, postcards, and magazines published in Hong Kong and mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These materials--produced by Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters--address foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform.
East Asia Image Collections (Lafayette College Libraries)
This collection of digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides portrays imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945), and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan, Japan, China, Korea, Manchuria, and Indonesia are included.
East Asia: Photographs, Prints (World Digital Library)
Images contributed by a variety of libraries and archives.
The East Asian Collection (University of Wisconsin)
This collection of photographs documents East Asian cultural heritage in the 20th century. Included are images of the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China.
Formosa: 19th Century Images (Reed Institute)
This collection features images gathered by European and American travelers to Taiwan. Images were originally published in European and North American books and journals during the 19th century.
Historical Photographs of China (University of Bristol, University of Lincoln, the Institut d'Asie Orientale, and TGE-Adonis)
This collection comprises some 5,000 images of China from the mid-19th to mid-20th centuries.
Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period (Nagasaki University Library)
This collection comprises some 7,000 digitized photographs taken all over Japan from the Bakumatsu through to the Meiji period (19th century).
Korean War Propaganda Leaflet Collection (NDSU Institute for Regional Studies)
Comprises leaflets created by American forces and distributed in Korea during the Korean War.
MIT Visualizing Cultures
Images in this collection focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China.
The International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online
This site presents images of paintings, textiles, and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road.
Sidney D. Gamble Photographs (Duke University)
A sociologist and China scholar, Gamble collected these 5,000 photographs of urban and rural life, public events, architecture, religious statuary, and the countryside in China, Korea, Japan, and Russia.
Visualising China
This archive presents some 8,000 photographs of China between 1850 and 1950. Images have been gathered from a variety of collections, with the support of the British Academy, AHRC, and the University of Bristol.
Ask CWU Libraries