Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent (University of Wisconsin)
This site features more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different African countries. To view images, click on "search the collection." Photo topics include architecture, cities and towns, education, landscape, religion, and women.
African Activist Archive Project
This site presents posters and photographs documenting efforts in the United States to support African people in opposing colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The majority of materials deal with South Africa, but some also relate to Guinea-Bissau, Angola, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, and Namibia.
Basel Mission Image Archive (University of Southern California)
This archive features photos taken between 1850 and 1950 at missions in West Africa.
Congo Expedition May 1909 - November 1915 (American Museum of Natural History)
This exhibit contains images from the Herbert Lang and James Chapin expedition to the Congo in 1909-1915. Images of flora and fauna predominate.
G.I. Jones Photographic Archive of Southeastern Nigeria Art and Culture (Southern Illinois University)
This collection presents photos taken in the 1930s by the District Officer for Bende--Gwilliam Iwan Jones.
Images of Colonialism (Harvard University)
Made up largely of late-19th and early-20th century trade cards and illustrated European newspapers, this collection of more than 700 images offers insight into European perspectives on varying aspects of colonial experience by documenting how popular perceptions of Asia and Africa were created and disseminated.
International Institute of Social History
This site features some 900 posters dealing with Africa. Search "posters niza" for a list of the available posters. (NIZA stands for Nederlands Instituut voor Zuidelijk Afrika.)
The International Mission Photography Archive (University of Southern California)
This archive offers historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States. The photographs, which range in time from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean.
Koloniales Bildarchiv (University of Frankfurt am Main)
This archive contains some 50,000 photos depicting life in former German colonies in Africa. See "Lexikon" for search suggestions.
Memoire du Canal de Suez (Bibliotheca Alexandrina)
This site documents the construction of the Suez Canal. See "Galerie" for images.
The Middle East in Early Prints and Photographs (NYPL)
The images in this collection feature Egypt and the Middle East. They date from the 17th to 20th centuries, having first appeared as engravings, lithographs, salt prints, heliogravures, or in other formats.
Nelson Mandela Digital Archives
This site features photos relating to the life and work of Nelson Mandela, 1929-2013.
The Transatlantic Slave Trade (New York Public Library)
Includes images related to the transatlantic transport of slaves between 1501 and the 1860s.
Winterton Collection of East African Photographs: 1860-1960 (Northwestern University)
Assembled by the British collector Humphrey Winterton over about 30 years, this collection depicts life in East Africa (1860-1960). Topics include European life and colonial work in Africa, African landscape, East Africa’s railways, urban centers, and rural life.
Ask CWU Libraries