Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Government Publications

Government Publications is a collection of materials put on deposit by the federal and state government for all citizens use free of charge and located on the Third Floor of the James E. Brooks Library. We encourage you to browse our collection whenever

Government Sites

USA.gov is the official government 'portal' to federal, state, local, tribal, and international government information and services.
(USA.gov is legislatively mandated through Section 204 of the E-Government Act of 2002).  You may search in the search box or browse broad topic.

Government Sites

  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is a database of federal publications. You may search by authoring agency, subject, title, keyword, report number, etc.  Goes back to 1976.
  • Data.gov is the home of U.S. Government's open data.
  • Govinfo.gov is the official, authenticated repository of digital government information for the U.S. government.
  • Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) is a free economic database from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis that aggregates 40 different data sources. (There are additional versions of FRED: GeoFRED - a mapping economic data, and ALFRED - a list of vintage versions of economic data.)
  • MetaLib is a federated search engine crossing multiple U.S. government agencies.
  • NCJRS, National Criminal Justice Reference Service, is the place to go for reports, data, and other information from state and federal agencies related to crime, criminality, justice, and law.
  • For scientific information, try Science.gov which searches across several executive branch agencies. For technical reports, try using the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) which collects and digitizes millions of contractor and government reports going back to the 1950s.
  • TreeSearch is an online system for sharing free, full text publications by scientists in the US Forest Service.
  • USA Trade Online is a dynamic data tool that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data

Non-Government Sites

  • The CyberCemetary is hosted at the University of North Texas and is where ceased government web sites reside.  The frequently are selected to support UNT curricula in partnership with the U.S. Government Publishing Office.
  • Louisiana State University Libraries, Government Publications Department maintains an A to Z list of U.S. Government databases and web sites.
  • HathiTrust has been digitizing federal government publications since they started their repository.  The FDLP added them to their LibGuides as one source for finding government publications.
  • The federal government also has a large collection of mobile apps available for download.
  • ILOSTAT provides statistics from International Labour Organization, a part of the UN.
  • Congressional Research Service Reports at the University of North Texas provides access to these reports that have been posted.
  • The University of Louisville has put together a site of all online government periodicals
  • TRAIL identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.

Congress.gov is now the 'primary portal' for Legislative research. The following are just a portion of what is available: