LibGuides: Government Publications: Washington State Government Information

Washington (WA) State Government Information

Access Washington: The official site for Washington State government information and provides links to agencies by name and/or subject.
Central Regional Branch: Guides users to the local government archival collection located in Ellensburg.
Find-It! Washington: Provides searching options for government information, courtesy of the Washington State Library.
GODORT State Agency Databases: A subject list of online Washington State government resources.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW): Provides the current edition of the laws of Washington State
Washington Administrative Code (WAC): Provides current Washington State agency regulations
Search RCW, WAC, Register and/or Current Bills: Allows you to search all mentioned databases at once from 1985/86 - present.
Washington State Courts: Provides full text of recent decisions from Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.
Washington State Legislature: Includes bills and other current legislative materials, calendars, and directories
Governor's Office: Links to budget and policy, boards and commissions, executive orders, etc.

Climate Change - Department of Ecology: Washington faces serious impacts to its snowpack, infrastructure, and water supplies as the climate changes and temperatures climb. Protecting our state's fish, farms, and communities from the impacts of climate change is a priority for the Department of Ecology.
Personnel Detail Report: Includes salaries for Washington State employees and is the Office of Financial Management's website.
Traffic and Travel Conditions: View current travel conditions on an interactive map or search by route to get a list of travel alerts, cameras, truck restrictions, and weather. Provided by the Washington State Department of Transportation.
U.S. Census Bureau - WA Quick Facts: Provides information about the people, businesses, and geography in Washington.
Voting and Election Information: Shows current Washington State election information from the Secretary of State
WA City and Town Profiles: Provides profiles for all cities and towns in WA State, including information on population size, classification, form of government, and more.
WA State Fiscal Information: Provides access to state fiscal data, reports, charts, and maps to promote government transparency through greater government accountability.
WA State Population and Demographics: Official state and local population estimates and projections for use in the allocation of certain state revenues, growth management, and other planning functions.

Databases

CQ Magazine
[formerly CQ Weekly]
Comprehensive, non-partisan news and information on Congress, politics and public policy from 1983 to the present.
HeinOnline
Provides full-text access to an extensive collection of modern and historical legal periodicals and monographs including documents on international and foreign jurisdiction, U.S. treaties, U.S Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General, and more. The format is image-based, presenting the exact page image and complete contents of the original materials.
Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis Academic]
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest Congressional: U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
A collection of materials published in a “serial” fashion by and for the use of Congress covering almost all house and senate reports and documents published since 1817. These include House and Senate Journals (until the 1950s), committee and conference reports related to and those not related legislation, Presidential messages to congress, executive branch publications, Statistical Abstract of the US (1879 on), Budget of the US, treaty items, and materials from various non-governmental entities as well.
ProQuest News Policy & Politics Magazine Archive
An archival collection of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive) spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Offers multiple perspectives on the 20th century’s key issues and events. Full Text Included. Coverage: 1918-2015.

CALI, The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction
CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of mostly US law schools that conducts applied research and development in the area of computer-mediated legal education.
FindLaw - free legal database
FindLaw is a Thomson Reuters business. It is a free online research database intended to help users get basic legal information. It is not a substitute for a lawyer or their services but can give you a start on your legal research.
Legal Information Institute - Cornell University Law School
LII is "a small not-for-profit group that believes everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them, without cost which values accuracy and objectivity."