LibGuides: Geography: Journals

Recommended Journals in Geography

Annals of the Association of American Geographers
This link takes you to the journal record in the library system. For the greatest historical depth, choose JSTOR or Academic Search Complete. For the most recent, choose Taylor & Francis.
Some years also available in print on the second floor of the library. http://searchlib.cwu.edu/CWU:CP71119598120001451
Antipode: A Radical Journal of Geography
Published five times per year, this journal is intended to push the "edge" of geographic thought and engender a "new and better society", Available online through Wiley Online from 1998-present and from EbscoHost from 1997-last year.
Geographical Review (published by the American Geographical Society)
Available 1916 to the present. Use the "View It" tab to select an access option that will access the time period you need.
Human Ecology
Human Ecology "examine the roles of social, cultural, and psychological factors in the maintenance or disruption of ecosystems and investigate the effects of population density on health, social organization, and environmental quality." This access is for 1972 on through the SpringerLink database.
Human Ecology - additional access
Human Ecology is also available from 2000 through Ebsco databases at this link, and in print from 1992 to 1998 on the second floor of Brooks Library at call number GF1 H84.
Journal of Cultural Geography
Focused on " scholarly research devoted to the spatial aspects of human groups, their activities, associated landscapes, and other cultural phenomena," this journal isaAvailable through this link from 1997 to the present. Also available in print from 1995 on, at call number GF1 .J62 on the second floor of Brooks Library.
The Professional Geographer
This journal is available electronically from 1984 to the present. Notice that the Ebsco access goes further back, but includes nothing younger than a year and a half. Also, the Taylor & Francis option, while only providing access to 1997 to the present, can be used to search for articles in older issues. To access the older ones, check our print issues on the second floor at call number G3 P7. Use ILLiad to request those we don't have in print.
Progress in Human Geography
The Ebsco access option in the "View It" tab includes 1997 forward. The Sage link includes from 1999 forward. According to the publisher, "Progress in Human Geography is the peer-review journal of choice for those wanting to know about the state of the art in all areas of human geography research - philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical. Concerned primarily with critical reviews of current research, PiHG enables a space for debate about questions, concepts and findings of formative influence in human geography. "

Science Online
- This link opens in a new window
Full text content from the publications of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Recommended Journals Available Only or Mostly in Print

Geoforum:

Brooks Library holds Geoforum in print for 1973 to 1993. It is on the second floor in periodicals at call number G1 G28.

How to find those print articles? Geoforum is indexed in these databases to which CWU subscribes: Geobase, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.

Geoforum also offers a limited amount of open access content for more recent dates, or you can use Interlibrary Loan to request articles to which we don't have access here at CWU.

Environment and Planning D: Society and Space

Brooks Library does not have this journal, but you may request articles using Interlibrary Loan.

Scopus, Social Science Citation Index, Greenfile, Academic Search Premier, International Bibliography of Social Sciences, Periodicals Index Online , Avery, Geobase, MLA - Modern Language Association Database, DIALNET - See more at: http://miar.ub.edu/issn/0263-7758#sthash.ZHpnynby.dpuf

How to find those print articles? Environment and Planning D is indexed in these databases to which CWU subscribes: Greenfile, Academic Search Complete, and GEOBASE.

Scopus, Social Science Citation Index, International Bibliography of Social Sciences, Geobase, International Political Science Abstracts, PAIS International, Political Science Complete, Social services abstracts, Sociological abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - See more at: http://miar.ub.edu/issn/0016-7185#sthash.ke83jRnr.

Recommended Journals

Environment and Planning A - Interdisciplinary journal focused on the interface of human geography, environmental studies, and urban and regional research

Global Environmental Change

Open Access Journals

The Geoscience Information Society provides a list of reputable open access journals in the geosciences and related fields. A few publishers who are prominent on the list are:

Copernicus Publications
BioMed Central

Because of the biomedical focus, a well-made search is especially important, but this can still be a good source. An example search is this: migration AND development AND ("public policy" OR "government policy")

MDPI, publisher of Geosciences and other Environmental & Earth Sciences journals.

The American Geophysical Union also offers several journals that are fully open access or have open access options. The search is provided by Wiley.