Geography

Academic Search Complete is very broad in topic coverage. It is not geared specifically to geography. Large and easy to use. Using the "Choose Databases" link above the search boxes, you can search multiple databases at once.

Contains bibliographic citations and abstracts for human geography, physical geography, oceanogeography, and international and development studies.

Comprehensive index of international geoscience literature. Covers geology of North America from 1785 to the present and world geologies from 1933 to the present.

Journals available include The Geographical Journal (1893-2008) and Geographical Review (1916-2008) among others. We do not have full text access to all of their content, but you can limit your search to only content to which we do have access. You can also use other databases, print journals in the library, or interlibrary loan to get articles that you are unable to access through JSTOR.

Search for historic reports, maps, and survey data from the Colonial times to present.

A comprehensive collection of materials focused on the physical constitution of the earth and its atmosphere as related to modern social movements focused on environmentalism and sustainability that emerged in the late 20th Century. The collection contains articles and reports documenting the rise of the environmental movement, pollution awareness, environmental management, and alternative energy resources.
**Tullis Endowment purchase

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.

Provides resources on Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims. Content includes decisions, transcripts, docket books, journals of the Indian Claims Commission, and related publications from 1789-present.

A collection of materials published in a “serial” fashion by and for the use of Congress covering almost all house and senate reports and documents published since 1817. These include House and Senate Journals (until the 1950s), committee and conference reports related to and those not related legislation, Presidential messages to congress, executive branch publications, Statistical Abstract of the US (1879 on), Budget of the US, treaty items, and materials from various non-governmental entities as well.

ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks. Full text access is available for those titles to which CWU subscribes.

Keep in mind that the initial search in Web of Science is very limited. It searches topic, title, author, and a few other fields. They define "topic" as "Title, Abstract, Author Keywords, and 'Keywords Plus.'" After your initial search, use the "Search within Results" box (which only searches "topic" fields) or the other limiters in the left side column to focus your search. Not all results available in full text, but you can request them using ILL.

Full text of journal articles back to 1997 from journals in business, science, technology, and law, education, psychology and medicine.