LibGuides: Geography: Other Great Sources

What Do You Call It?

EOS:Earth & Space Science News

Atlapedia Online
"Contains full color physical maps, political maps as well as key facts and statistics on countries of the world."

Specialized Online Map Collections

"Millions of Documents at Your FIngertips"! Maps from the 1600 to the 20th century or freely available for viewing and downloading courtesy of the National Library of France. Other resources available at the site include books, manuscripts, images, periodicals, sound recordings, and scores. Download maps in PDF or JPG. English language access is not consistently available across the site, but appearance and web site conventions are often an adequate guide for successful use.

Also, there's an app for that! (Available at the site.)

What's new in maps at Gillica?

19th-Century Maps of the Middle East, North Africa, and Central Asia
From the University of Chicago Map Collection - "Most of these maps were published in Western Europe, and nearly all the others were published in Russia or in the United States. The maps are products of--or were designed to support--the major European and Russian activities in the region: exploration, scientific research, resource exploitation, conquest, and administration."
Harvard's Scanned Maps
Includes maps and atlases including some of their historical collections.
Pursuasive Geography: the PJ Mode Collection
"This is a collection of “persuasive” cartography: more than 800 maps intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs - to send a message - rather than to communicate geographic information. The collection reflects a variety of persuasive tools , including allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective inclusion; unusual use of projections, color, graphics and text; and intentional deception. Maps in the collection address a wide range of messages: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social."

Maps, GIS, and more

EarthWorks
Stanford's "new geospatial data discovery application. EarthWorks allows you to discover
and download GIS data and maps from a variety of institutions."
MapCruzin
"MapCruzin is an independent firm specializing in innovative Geographic Information System (GIS) projects, environmental and sociodemographic research, website development and hosting....Our specific focus is on environmental justice and equality especially as it pertains to pollution, climate change, peak oil, energy, water, housing, food and technology."
Open Street Map
open source GIS mapping tool

Places, Spaces, and Other

BLM Navigator
Maps and datasets from the Bureau of Land Management
CAST (Center for Advanced Spatial Technologies)
From the University of Arkansas, CAST is a multi-disciplinary home to learn about geospatial technologies.
National Centers for Environmental Information
Consolidation of the 3 data centers under NOAA: National Climatic Data Center, the National Geophysical Data Center, and the National Oceanographic Data Center into the National Centers for Environmental Information to improve data management and provide consistent data stewardship tools and practices across all science disciplines.

SciTech

SciTech (at http://www.osti.gov/scitech/) provides a wealth of resources. It is brought to you by OSTI, the US Office of Science and Technology, who also provides Data Explorer and Pages,

Teaching with Maps

Maps: More Than Just a Tool for Navigation
This blog from 2012 provides a brief introduction to maps as a primary source in historical research or study.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Ellensburg, Kittitas County, Washington. October 1888
Library of Congress, American Memory
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps from Ellensburg, Kittitas County, Washington, May 1897
Library of Congress, American Memory
Sanborn Firen Insurance Maps from Ellensburg, Kittitas County, Washington, December 1889
Library of Congress, American Memory
U.S. Daily Weather Maps
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration dating back to 1871