LibGuides: Computer Science: CS 101

Business Databases

Business Source Complete
Full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, etc.
Some videos are also available.
Hoover's Online
Provides company profiles, corporate directory (searchable by company name, industry, ticker symbol, sales, location), market quotes, and business news.

NOTE: Hoover's is not compatible with mobile devices.
Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis Academic]
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Regional Business News
Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
S & P Global NetAdvantage
- This link opens in a new window
NetAdvantage gives reference users the core intelligence they need for in-depth company and industry research in the digital age, and is the go-to resource to evaluate performance, analyze financials and gather market data and access: Corporate Records, Stock Reports, Industry Survey, Register, Outlook, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earning Guide, Dividend Record, and Mutual Fund Reports.

Business Websites

IRS.gov
The IRS website is a good place to start for information about taxes, tax credits, and tax assistance.
Access Washington
This website provides business start-up information specific to the state of Washington. It also features a Start Your Business guide specifically for those in the state of Washington.
U.S. Small Businesses Administration
Provides many resources for starting your small business, creating a business plan, acquiring appropriate licenses, and much more.
U.S. Cluster Mapping
"open data on regional clusters and economies to support U.S. business . . . and regional business environments."
Small Business Association
10 steps to start your business, as outlined by the U.S. Small Business Association.
Explore Census Data

Information about populations

United States Census Bureau
Explore Census Data
Learn about America’s People, Places, and Economy

Google

You've probably heard of the invisible web, or the deep web, which could be refered to everything that exists on the web but isn't reachable by search engines. Therefore, it's important to recognize that there is an important and rather large section of the web that simply can't be searched by search engines. Who makes up this invisible web content?

Businesses
Governments
Organizations
Individuals
Groups

And what might be most relevant to your purposes . . .

Databases

Databases contain a huge amount of relavent material that is especially important to research. That's why it's important to look further than what Google serves you.

Only about 16% of the web is indexed, meaning the invisible web makes up 84% of it.

Lyman, P. and Varian, H. R. (2003). How much information? 2003. School of Information Management and Systems, University of California at Berkeley.

Google Trends
Fun tool for tracking popular searches on Google. You can also change your country to see what information other countries are looking up.
Google Ngram
The Ngram tool searches material from Google books to pull back information on how popular the use of a particular word, or words, has/have been over time.

Software Tools

https://www.digitallearn.org/ Contains relatively short (usually < 20 min) workshops how to do basic things on computers
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/basic-tasks-in-excel-dc775dd1-fa52-430f-9c3c-d998d1735fca Microsoft's website for basic tasks in excel
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/training Contains instructions on how to work all of the Microsoft's current products
https://www.computerworld.com/article/3193992/excel-2016-and-2019-cheat-sheet.html Article discussing tips for using excel
https://www.excel-easy.com/ Website that discusses some of the basic operations of excel and how to do them.
https://nscc.libguides.com/Onlineworkshops/word Word and PowerPoint tutorials with other related links.
https://edu.gcfglobal.org/en/subjects/tech/ Website with very good tutorials for just about anything technology related (Word, PowerPoint, Excel, Google Sheets, Access, Online Safety, Mac and Windows operating systems, etc.) with quizzes at the end.
https://www.free-training-tutorial.com/excel-tutorial.html Free Training Tutorial page for excel
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/excel-functions-alphabetical-b3944572-255d-4efb-bb96-c6d90033e188 Microsoft's complete list of functions.

Welcome!

Hello!

This guide contains a compilation of resources to help you get started with your market research assignment for CS101. You will find tips on getting started using the OneSearch search engine, recommended databases, and tips on government websites. Remember, you can always call, email, chat, or drop by to meet with a librarian. We're here to help!