Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Computer Science

Databases

Academic Search Complete

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.

ACM Digital Library

Fulltext, bibliographic information, abstracts, and reviews for articles published in ACM periodicals & magazines, ACM proceedings & ACM SIG conference proceedings.

Article First - FirstSearch

Indexing and some abstracts for over 16,000 journals in all subject areas from 1990 - Present.

Business Search Complete

Full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, etc.

Dissertations&Theses

Discover dissertations and theses from around the world. Citations available 1861-, abstracts 1980-, Caltech dissertations full text 1997-.

JSTOR

Contains the complete back issues of over 600 core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, the social sciences, as well as the natural and applied sciences.

ScienceDirect

Full text of journal articles back to 1995 from over 100 journals published by Elsevier in business, humanities, and the sciences.

SpringerLink

Full text of journal articles back to 1999 from over 800 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, theoretical and applied sciences, technology and medicine. Not all content in this database is available full text.

Web of ScienceScientific literature database containing article references from 1900+.

Wiley Online Library

Full text of journal articles back to 1997 from journals in business, science, technology, and law, education, psychology and medicine.

MathSciNet

Site-licensed access to Mathematical Reviews.and Current Mathematical Publications

CiteSeerX

Indexes freely available literature using Autonomous Citation Indexing to create a citation index. ResearchIndex analyzes the computer science literature providing access to technical reports, conference papers, journal articles, books and book chapters.

Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies

A collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science with references mostly to journal articles, conference papers and technical reports.

Computing Research Repository (CoRR)

LANL e-print archive of computing research.

PubMed

Online access to the database of the National Library of Medicine.

DBLP Computer Science Bibliography

 

 

Online Books

Computer-Books.us

Computer-Books.us provides access to programming books. It is arranged by programming language, and includes books on Assembly Language, BASIC, C, C++, C#, Fortran, Java, Lisp, Perl, PHP, and other languages. The books are available for download.

Computer Programming Ebooks Collection

This resource is for locating free online programming books. It is arranged in blog format; that is, chronological order. However, there is also a category (subject) guide.

EbookOffline

EbookOffline provides access to free online books, tutorials, computing tools, and articles as well as other computing resources.  It is arranged by the broad subjects of programming, Web development, and database management, and sub-divided by subjects like C#, Java, MS-DOS, PHP, Ajax, XML, MySQL, Oracle, and DB2.  EbookOffline can be browsed by these subjects, or the entire Website can be searched.

Electronic Colloquium on Computational Complexity

ECCC provides links to research reports, surveys, lecture notes, databases, & conferences dealing with computational complexity

Free Online Books

This Web site provides access to free online books and technical tutorials. Cisco, Windows, Linux, HTML, XML, programming, Oracle, software engineering, and other topics are included.

Free Programming Books

Organized in 33 subject categories like .Net, Java, Linux, UML, and XML, this site provides access to a large collection of free online programming and technology books, mostly in PDF format. 

FreeBookCentre.net

This resource provides access to numerous online computing books in the following categories: computer science, programming languages, Java, Unix/Linux, Web technology, database systems, networking, Microsoft technology, and special topics.

FreeTechBooks

This site provides links to free online computer books and documentation. There are over 100 books covering programming languages, scripting languages, operating systems, and other computer science topics like data structures, algorithms, object-oriented programming, logic programming, compiler design, and software development.

Handbook of Applied Cryptography

Access the full text of the 4th printing.

IBM Redbooks

Developed and published by IBM's International Technical Support Organization, Redbooks provide guidance, installation and implementation experiences, solution scenarios, and "how-to" guidelines. Sample code and other support materials are often included. The Redbooks are listed by publication date and are also accessible by keyword search.

ITpapers

ITpapers contains more than 23,000 freely available white papers and other documents related to information technology. The papers are organized into categories and subcategories. Summaries are readily available, but registration is required to access the papers.

National Academy Press - Computers and Information Technology

A collection of freely available reports from the National Academy Press.

NetLib Repository

a metasite containing freely available software, conference proceedings, & databases of interest to the numerical & scientific computing communities

The Online Books Page: Call Numbers Starting With QA

Access the full text of computer science and mathematics books. There are also books in the Q 300s on artificial intelligence, TK 5100s on computer networks, and TK 7800s on computer hardware and engineering.

O'Reilly Open Books Project

The O'Reilly Open Books Project has been developed by O'Reilly publishers. It contains freely available computing books that are either still in print or out of print.

Programming Language Theory Texts Online

Programming Language Theory Texts Online provides links to books, lecture notes, tutorials, and other resources on programming language theory that are freely available. The resources are alphabetically arranged by author in broad categories.

SWEBOK

Developed in 2004 by the IEEE Computer Society, SWEBOK is the Guide to the Software Engineering Body of Knowledge. "It describes generally accepted knowledge about software engineering," and is divided into 10 knowledge areas: requirements, design, construction, testing, maintenance, configuration management, engineering management, engineering process, engineering tools and methods, and quality. There is also a chapter on related disciplines, and several appendices.

USENIX: Compendium of Best Papers

USENIX provides access to the best papers presented at its conferences and workshops since 1990.

USENIX Conference Proceedings

The conference proceedings of USENIX, the Advanced Computing Systems Association are open access. All conference proceedings beginning with 1993 are freely available, however, there appears to be slight delay for some of the conferences.

Wikibooks: Computer Science Bookshelf

Wikibooks is a collection of open content textbooks. Open content means that these textbooks are freely available online. A textbook is defined by Wikibooks as "a manual of instruction or a standard book in any branch of study. They are produced according to the demand of educational institutions." The Computer Science Bookself contains books on general topics, theory, networking, programming, computational intelligence, human computer interaction, software design, embedded systems, and others.