Newspapers - ENG 311 - Business Writing - LibGuides at Central Washington University

Newpaper Collections

CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
Flipster Digital Magazines
- This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine platform that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile devices. Titles range from ARTNews and Discover to popular magazines like Vogue, Wired and the New Yorker and everything in between.

*Download the Flipster app from Google Play or the App Store to browse and read magazines and download issues for offline use. Additional information is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/Flipster/Training_Promotion
Access World News (NewsBank)
Access World News Research Collection is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles, and newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) contains full-text national and international news content, with some coverage dating back to 1980. Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes major newspapers such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.

Google News Archive Search
Digital archive of newspapers from all over the world. Includes many independent and smaller newspaper publishers.

Historical Newsspapers

Historical Newspapers:
This research guide gathers historical U. S. newspapers that are available online and at no cost, including those available through newspaperarchives.com, the Google News Historical Archives, Chronicling America (Library of Congress), and state archives.
Library of Congress, Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Legacy Washington Historic Papers
Legacy Washington is an education campaign for history. Its goal is to further the knowledge of the state’s past and its continuing story. This collaborative venture, spearheaded by Secretary of State Kim Wyman, recognizes the immeasurable value of our state’s history and our promise to preserve it.

Legacy Washington includes Secretary of State Kim Wyman and a core group of staff members who promote Washington heritage, write and develop stories, and fundraise to benefit SOS historical programs. Every employee working in history at SOS contributes to its success. Legacy Washington regularly draws on the extensive knowledge of the state’s librarians, archivists and historians.

Trade Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers

Barron's
A Dow Jones publication
Forbes
New York Times
New York Times International Edition
PR News
PR Week
Public Relations Strategist
Presents fresh perspectives & new ideas related to the strategic importance of effective public relations at the management level. Examines changing concepts & occassionally challenges current wisdom about the practice of public relations.
Public Relations Tactics
News, trends and how-to information for public relations people.
United States Public Relations Agencies Industry Jobs & Wages Report
The Wall Street Journal Online