LibGuides: English: Resources for ENG 102

Finding Specific Databases

If you want to find specific databases for your subject, there two ways to go about it.

To start, go to the library website, scroll down to Quick Links and select the "Databases" tab.

Here's the first way- subject specific.

Once you are on the A-Z Database page, use the drop down menu for subjects and highlight "English."

You'll be redirected to all databases that have English resources.

For the second way- input specific- put in you own keywords in the search bar.

If there are databases for that include those specific keywords as part of their focus they'll come back in the results.

Database Recommendations

CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.
Black Thought and Culture
Full texts of books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
ProQuest Platform
The ProQuest platform makes hundreds of Full text and A&I (Abstracts & Indexes) collections available to researchers around the world. The ProQuest Platform hosts multidisciplinary content containing scholarly journals, books, video & audio, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete back issues of over 600 core scholarly journals in the natural and applied sciences, as well as the arts, humanities, and the social sciences.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Formerly known as GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Academic Video Online (ProQuest platform)
Academic Video Online (AVOn), searchable as part of the ProQuest One Academic database on the ProQuest platform, makes video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Search for award-winning films including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners and access content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more.
PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides streaming access to more than 1,200 documentaries and series from PBS. Subjects range from science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more. Highlights include Frontline, NOVA, Nature, American Experience, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.