ENG 311 - Business Writing - English - LibGuides at Central Washington University

Business and Industry Research

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis Academic]
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
S & P Global NetAdvantage
NetAdvantage gives reference users the core intelligence they need for in-depth company and industry research in the digital age, and is the go-to resource to evaluate performance, analyze financials and gather market data and access: Corporate Records, Stock Reports, Industry Survey, Register, Outlook, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earning Guide, Dividend Record, and Mutual Fund Reports.
Business Source Complete
Full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 (or the first issue published for that journal) and searchable cited references back as far as 1998 in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, etc.
Some videos are also available.
Gale eBooks
Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Formerly known as GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Hoover's Online
Provides company profiles, corporate directory (searchable by company name, industry, ticker symbol, sales, location), market quotes, and business news.

NOTE: Hoover's is not compatible with mobile devices.
Regional Business News
Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Cabell's International Business Directory
Cabells is the complete source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details for Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, and Marketing.

AnnualReports.com
This website provides free reports for 5,400+ companies, both domestic and internationally housed. Reports include information about company finance, legal issues, company governance, and general analytics on the company.
ResponsibilityReports.com
This website provides company reports on metrics of environmental sustainability, social support, health and safety, and community measures.
InvestorFactSheets.com
Fact sheets are brief and include: Company Profile, Market Facts, Financial Highlights, Forward Strategy, and Management.

NAICS Codes
NAICS stands for North American Industry Classification System and include codes used to define and search for a specific industry.
SIC Codes
SIC stands for Standard Industrial Classification and has been used to classify business work within an industry since 1937.

Encyclopedia of associations.
ISBN: 00710202
Publication Date: 1961-
This is an older copy of the book, but provides a method of looking through an index of businesses within a particular sector of industry.

Census Geographic Tool
Economic Census / Census Bureau
Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
Explore Census Data
Explore census data using visual guides and maps.
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Designed to give a quick snapshot of the national economy.
Federal Reserve Banks
Browse the publications for reports on macro trends related to your areas of interest.
National Bureau of Economic Research
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Produces research on GDP, trade, personal income, investment, international comparisons, and special markets. Going through Resources > Article Collections, you can search for regional reports.
U.S. Data and Statistics
US maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
U.S. Department of Labor
The DOL supports wage earners, job seekers, and retirees. They include information in the areas of working conditions, opportunities for employment, and work-related benefits and rights.

The European Union Online
Official website of the European Union. Navigate through the "Documents and publications" to find reports, studies, statistics, opinion polls, and open data relating to the EU.
EuroStat / European Union
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Eurostat offers a whole range of important and interesting data that governments, businesses, the education sector, journalists and the public can use for their work and daily life.

Starting a Business

Start-up Costs
Books on Starting a Business

Calculating start-up costs is an essential part of creating a business plan. It can also feel intimidating when it includes calculating the costs for things you don't usually have to purchase. These documents, books, and resources can help you get started with that process.

Census Business Builder
Developed by the US Census Bureau, these interactive tools give you the ability to search by area of the country or type of business and generate useful reports to help your planning.
Salary.com
Used to calculate how much you can expect to spend on employee salaries.
U.S. Small Business Association
The SBA is a federal agency that helps provide counseling, capital, and contracting assistance for small businesses.
Business Expenses Survey
Created to compile statistics on business operating expenses for Retail Trade, Wholesale Trade, and Service Industries.
CalcXML
Use this calculator to determine start up costs for your business.

Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations by Michael Allison; Jude Kaye
ISBN: 9781118769867
Publication Date: 2015-03-10
Chapter 6 has some good resources and ideas for starting your business model.
The Business Model Innovation Factory by Saul Kaplan
ISBN: 9781118225905
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Business Writing Today by Natalie Canavor
ISBN: 9781483358666
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Plan B by Kathleen Rich-New
ISBN: 1614483787
Publication Date: 2013-01-11
The Small Business Bible by Steven D. Strauss
ISBN: 9781118225257
Publication Date: 2012-02-24
How to Open a Financially Successful Specialty Retail and Gourmet Foods Shop by Sharon Fullen
ISBN: 1620230658
Publication Date: 2016-06-30

Newspapers

CQ Researcher
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.
Flipster Digital Magazines
Flipster is a next-generation digital magazine platform that makes it easy for you to read your favorite magazines on your computer or mobile devices. Titles range from ARTNews and Discover to popular magazines like Vogue, Wired and the New Yorker and everything in between.

*Download the Flipster app from Google Play or the App Store to browse and read magazines and download issues for offline use. Additional information is available at: https://help.ebsco.com/interfaces/Flipster/Training_Promotion
Access World News (NewsBank)
Access World News Research Collection is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles, and newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) contains full-text national and international news content, with some coverage dating back to 1980. Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes major newspapers such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.

Google News Archive Search
Digital archive of newspapers from all over the world. Includes many independent and smaller newspaper publishers.

Historical Newspapers
This research guide gathers historical U. S. newspapers that are available online and at no cost, including those available through newspaperarchives.com, the Google News Historical Archives, Chronicling America (Library of Congress), and state archives.
Library of Congress, Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Legacy Washington Historic Newspapers
Legacy Washington is an education campaign for history. Its goal is to further the knowledge of the state’s past and its continuing story. This collaborative venture, spearheaded by Secretary of State Kim Wyman, recognizes the immeasurable value of our state’s history and our promise to preserve it.

Legacy Washington includes Secretary of State Kim Wyman and a core group of staff members who promote Washington heritage, write and develop stories, and fundraise to benefit SOS historical programs. Every employee working in history at SOS contributes to its success. Legacy Washington regularly draws on the extensive knowledge of the state’s librarians, archivists and historians.

Barron's
A Dow Jones publication
Forbes
New York Times
New York Times International Edition
PR News
PR Week
Public Relations Strategist
Presents fresh perspectives & new ideas related to the strategic importance of effective public relations at the management level. Examines changing concepts & occassionally challenges current wisdom about the practice of public relations.
Public Relations Tactics
News, trends and how-to information for public relations people.
United States Public Relations Agencies Industry Jobs & Wages Report
The Wall Street Journal Online