English

African American Poetry is a searchable collection of nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora.

Contains page images of work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

This is a collection of digitized 17th and 18th century manuscripts from the Brotherton Library Collection at the University of Leeds. The collection’s primary focus is poetry, but the manuscripts also include songs, riddles, recipes, musical scores, plays, miscellanies, commonplace books, political works, and religious texts. Poets represented include: Mary Campbell, John Dryden, George Herbert, Mary Leapor, Andrew Marvell, Alexander Pope, Hester Pulter, Jonathan Swift. **Stellingwerf gift purchase

This is a collection of digitized manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of the New York Public Library. It includes the Berg Collection’s complete materials for the following Victorian authors: Matthew Arnold, The Brontës, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, William Makepeace Thackeray. Supplementary materials include early printed editions (some annotated by the authors), drafts, correspondence, financial documents, and personal items related to the authors. **Stellingwerf gift purchase

This is a collection of digitized primary sources from the archives of the Stationers’ Company, which controlled the early British publishing industry. The collection documents the rise of the printed book in England, the development of copyright, and the development of the publishing industry. **Stellingwerf gift purchase

This collection offers digital access to the archive of the historic John Murray publishing company. The Murray collection comprises one of the world’s most important literary archives. This digital resource enables researchers to discover the golden age of the company that published genre-defining titles including Darwin’s On the Origin of Species, Austen’s Emma, and Livingstone’s Missionary Travels. In addition, the resource makes available the most complete archival collection of Lord Byron. **Stellingwerf gift purchase

Provides digital access to manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA. **Stellingwerf gift purchase

Access to the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust. Includes the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey. There are also works by such artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable and Benjamin Robert Haydon. This digitized collection offers an insight into the working methods of the poet and the wider social, political and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries.
**Stellingwerf gift purchase

A searchable collection of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove. Coverage: 1901-1999.

Contains the complete back issues of over 600 core scholarly journals in the natural and applied sciences, as well as the arts, humanities, and the social sciences.

Literature Criticism covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays. Database subscriptions include the following titles: Contemporary literary criticism; Nineteenth-Century literature criticism; Literature criticism from 1400-1800; and Children's literature review. Formerly Literature Criticism Online.

Provides searchable full text of over 200 scholarly journals from scholarly publishers and covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and other subject areas.

Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) is a full-text database that contains literary criticism, synopses, work overviews, author biographies, book reviews, and much more.

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. CWU has access to Periodicals Archive Online Foundation Collection, Periodicals Archive Online Foundation Collection 2 and 3. **Stellingwerf gift purchase

Offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed within the Modern Language Association's International Bibliography. The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.

Includes extensive worldwide coverage for thousands of abstracts to publications related to literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of these disciplines. Abstracts are for published work dating back to the 1920s and published by the Modern Language Association.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Oxford Reference Online contains dictionary, language reference, subject reference and companion works published by Oxford University Press.

Gale Ebooks is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Formerly known as GVRL - Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Contains page images of work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Because Central Washington University Library is a HathiTrust member, when you log in using your institutional login and password, you have access to a larger number of volumes and features. Including the ability to download full volumes of public domain works.

To login to Central Washington University's instance of HathiTrust click on the large yellow "Log In" button. Select "Central Washington University" as your partner institution and click "Continue." Once prompted, login in using your CWU username and password.

Full text access to over 110,000 digital books in a wide range of subject areas: History & Political Science, Science & Technology, Social Sciences, Health & Medicine, Law, Business & Economics, Religion & Philosophy, Literature & Language, Arts, and Education. Scholarly titles from high quality publishers including leading university presses, top non-governmental organizations, and leaders in academic publishing.

Electronic full text of books in the areas of Library Reference, Choice Outstanding Academic Books, Computer Science & Technology, Pacific Northwest History, Management & Leadership, Sports Administration, Art & Architecture, Anthropology & Archaeology, Criminal Justice, Emergency Medicine, Law Enforcement & Forensic Science, and Social Work.