ENG 105 - The Literary Imagination - English - LibGuides at Central Washington University

Welcome!

Hello!

This guide contains a compilation of resources to help you get started with research assignments for English 105. You will find tips on getting started using the OneSearch search engine, recommended databases, and tips for searching the Internet. Remember, you can always call, email, chat, or drop by to meet with a librarian. We're here to help!

Ask the Libraries

JSTOR
Contains the complete back issues of over 600 core scholarly journals in the natural and applied sciences, as well as the arts, humanities, and the social sciences.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Project Muse
Provides searchable full text of over 200 scholarly journals from scholarly publishers and covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and other subject areas.

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature)
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Formerly Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online.
Gale Literature
Gale Literature integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. Formerly Gale Literary Sources.

The Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation provides biographies on featured poets.
Poets.org
Biographies of famous poets.

In-Class Activity

Team Searching
Survey

Team A: Project Muse

Team B: OneSearch

Team C: JSTOR

Team D: Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Oxford English Dictionary

Once you've found one item from the collection assigned to your team, feel free to search any of the other collections.

End of Session Survey