Beyond OneSearch - PSY 300 - Research Methods - LibGuides at Central Washington University

Psychology Databases

OneSearch is a great place to start your research because it gives you results for everything. However, if you want fewer, more relevant results you may want to search databases specifically for psychology.

The library's website has lists of recommended Databases by Subject, including recommended databases for Psychology.

Top Recommendations:

PsycARTICLES
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific full text articles within 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields, ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations (the Canadian Psychological Association and the English language publications of the Hogrefe Publishing Group).
PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is an abstract and index database of more than 3 million resources, covering psychology back to its underpinnings in the 17th Century. Records cover peer-reviewed journals, books, and dissertations and professional coverage goes beyond psychology to include related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics, engineering, and more.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Internacional
This database provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas.

This resource also integrates the complete Tests in Print database, which is also produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska. This resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to English and Spanish-language tests.
PTSDpubs
PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) is a freely available database, produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. Coverage: 1871-Current
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed searches millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Google Scholar

There is a possible compromise between using Google or OneSearch: Google Scholar. If you use it, you can customize it to show you items that are available through the CWU library. Follow the steps below to do this:

1. Navigate to Google Scholar and log in with your Google credentials (if you have them) in the upper right:

2. Select the list icon in the upper left:

3. Select Settings:

4. Select Library Links:

5. Type in "Central Washington University" and hit save. You may have to turn on cookies to save the settings: