LibGuides: Mental Health Resource Guide: Mental Health & LGBTQIA+ Communities

Featured Organizations & Useful Websites

Roadmap to LGBTQ+ Mental Health
From the Mental Health Coalition: “While there is no one-size-fits all, there are some shared experiences that often go along with being part of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, gender nonconforming, queer, questioning+ (LBGTQ+) community. Since mental health touches all aspects of life, it also overlaps with gender and sexual identity.”
The Trevor Project
This national organization provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQIA+ individuals ages 13-24.
National Queer and Trans Therapists of Color Network
"The National Queer and Trans Therapists of Color Network (NQTTCN) is a healing justice organization committed to transforming mental health for queer and trans people of color (QTPoC). We work at the intersection of movements for social justice and the field of mental health to integrate healing justice into both of these spaces. Our overall goal is to increase access to healing justice resources for QTPoC."
Trans Lifeline
“Trans Lifeline is a grassroots hotline and microgrants 501(c)(3) non-profit organization offering direct emotional and financial support to trans people in crisis – for the trans community, by the trans community." Hotline: US (877) 565-8860
Pronouns.org
“Pronouns.org is a practical resource dedicated to the empowering and inclusive use of personal pronouns in the English language. This website will help you understand why and how to use the pronouns someone goes by.”

Background/Overview Articles

Intersectional Feminism and LGBTIQQA+ Psychology: Understanding Our Present by Exploring Our Past
from LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances
Caught at the Intersections: Microaggressions toward Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer People of Color
from LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances
LGBT Health Issues
from The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Gender Dysphoria
from The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health (Vol. 2. 4th ed.)
What Is Life Like with Gender Dysphoria?
from Dealing with Gender Dysphoria
Mental Health and Gender: Overview
from The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender (Vol. 3)

Scholarly Sources

Scholarly Journals

Library Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
Archives of Sexuality & Gender program module four examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. Includes manuscripts, periodicals and other ephemera dating from the 1820s, with the bulk from 1970–2016.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part 1 & 2
Archives of Sexuality & Gender program modules one and two includes historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals, publications by and for lesbians and gays, extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis, personal correspondence and interviews with LGBTQ individuals, international gay/lesbian newspapers. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950-1990.

Bottoming Podcast
"BOTTOMING is the LGBTQ+ mental health podcast, about rock bottoming and beyond. This is not a sex podcast, but if you came here for that, stay anyway."
Homo Sapiens Podcast
"The world from a Queer perspective: Conversations, Stories, and a good old laugh with LGBTQ+ icons, allies, and of course, our lovely listeners."
Fifty Shades of Gender
This podcast is "a collection of stories from people in various places in their gender journey and their experiences with family, relationships, mental health, work, and life in general."
Queer Therapy
By Anden Emery. "What's your queer therapy? Each session we'll dive into what our current queer therapy is (our being mine, and/or that of my guest), the definition of which being absolutely fluid, subjective, and ever changing."