LibGuides: Mental Health Resource Guide: Eating Disorders

Featured Organizations & Useful Websites

National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA)
The NEDA website features a screening tool to help determine if it’s time to seek professional help, a database of treatment providers, free and low-cost support resources, and recovery and relapse resources.
Eating Disorders
From the National Institute of Mental Health, overview information, statistics, brochures and fact sheets, and videos about eating disorders.
The Eating Disorder Foundation
“EDF provides help to people who seek information and support prior to or after making the decision to seek treatment, as well as to those who do not have access to formal care.”
How to Tell Someone You Have an Eating Disorder
From Beat Eating Disorders, “recommendations and support for deciding how and who to talk to about an eating disorder, including examples of conversation starters and considerations for finding a safe space.”
Eating Disorders Anonymous
"EDA is a Twelve-Step fellowship of individuals who share their experience, strength and hope with each other that they may solve their common problems and help others to recover from their eating disorders. People can and do fully recover from having an eating disorder. The only requirement for membership is a desire to recover from an eating disorder."

Other Featured Resources

Background/Overview Articles from the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

Popular Sources

Busting the Myths About Eating Disorders
from the National Eating Disorder Association (NEDA)
The Help Guide: Eating Disorders
The Help Guide is a nonprofit organization focused on all things mental health. Find articles about individual eating disorders here.
Understanding Eating Disorders
from the Jed Foundation
more...less...
"The Jed Foundation is a non-profit organization that protects emotional health and prevents suicide for teens and young adults in the United States."

Scholarly Journals

Library Databases

Behavioral and Mental Health Online
Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive collection of video and text. Counselling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health students will benefit from this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, documentaries, psychotherapy transcripts, DSM-5/ICD-10 content, as well client narratives and reference works.
DSM-5 Library
Access to the full text of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. Subscription also includes DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and the Spanish edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5.

Let's Talk: Body Image and Eating Disorders
"Our podcast connects you with experts, people with a lived experience and their families and carers. Whether you’re personally affected, you’re caring for a friend or family member, or want to find out more about body image issues and eating disorders, Butterfly: Let’s talk Podcast is a great place to start." From the Butterfly Foundation.
The Eating Disorder Recovery Podcast
"The Eating Disorder Recovery Podcast is a show about the recovery process from eating disorders including anorexia, bulimia, binge eating, as well as disordered eating, emotional eating, dieting, and exercise addiction."
more...less...
"The show is for anyone who would like to learn more about the psychology of eating disorders, make peace with food, improve their body image, and live authentically. The podcast explores how eating disorders work psychologically, what the recovery process looks like, and the cultural context of eating disorders. The show blends solo episodes with the host, Dr. Janean Anderson, and experts in the field including authors, speakers, dietitians, and treatment professionals. The Eating Disorder Recovery podcast balances providing information, education, and outreach with personal stories of hope for recovery."
AnthroDish
“AnthroDish is a weekly podcast about the connections between food, culture, and identity through an anthropological lens. Each week a new guest joins me to discuss a food-related topic that relates to their expertise or experience.” Produced in collaboration with the American Anthropological Association.
Peace Meal
"Peace Meal covers topics related to eating disorders, body image, and how society may influence our thinking. Join host Dr. Jillian Lampert as she sits down with experts in the field and those experiencing recovery for themselves." A podcast from the Emily Program and the Veritas Collaborative.
ED Matters
"The Gurze/Salucore podcast airing once a week where we interview the top experts in the field of eating disorders, sharing information for individuals recovering from eating disorders, their loved ones, clinicians in the field, and other individuals, professional or otherwise seeking to learn about eating disorders. Healthy conversations about eating disorders."
TED Health
"What does exercise do to your brain? Can psychedelics treat depression? From smart daily habits to new medical breakthroughs, welcome to TED Health, with host Dr. Shoshana Ungerleider. TED speakers answer questions you never even knew you had, and share ideas you won't hear anywhere else, all around how we can live healthier lives."