LibGuides: Health Sciences: Home

About This Guide

The CWU Department of Health Sciences includes several programs, including degree programs in Exercise Science, Clinical Physiology, Nutrition, Dietetics, Paramedicine, and Public Health. A full listing of the offerings in Health Science may be found on the department's homepage. This is a guide to CWU library and external resources available to students in these programs.

OneSearch Basics

OneSearch

Library Databases

Access to these databases is provided by the CWU library. If you use them from an off-campus computer, you may be prompted to log in with your CWU credentials. Except for Academic Search Complete, all of these databases are composed of medical or scientific literature. While you can also use OneSearch to find their content, going straight to the databases will eliminate much of the need to filter out irrelevant search results. PubMed is especially recommended for searches on medical topics.

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.
Health Source [Consumer Edition]
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health; access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source [Nursing/Academic Edition]
- This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE [EBSCOHost]
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Nutrition Abstracts: Series A
- This link opens in a new window
Topics and journal articles indexed include food composition and nutritive value, Human health and nutrition, disease and therapeutic nutrition, and physiology and biochemistry of nutrients.
PsycARTICLES
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific full text articles within 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields, ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations (the Canadian Psychological Association and the English language publications of the Hogrefe Publishing Group).
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed searches millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
SportDiscus with Full Text
With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature, providing full text for 550 of the journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, 393 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search Complete or Health Source Complete.

Study Tips

How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine by Trisha Greenhalgh
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118801116
Publication Date: 2014-02-26
This book is a must-read. It is written specifically addressing nursing students but the information is applicable to all health science students.

To read online, follow the link and scroll to find "View It." Click "Ebook Library (Orbis Cascade Alliance Ebooks)" and enter you CWU username and password.

How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centered way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice.

Allied Health Student’s Guide to Study Skills & Time Management
Begin your path to an allied health care career with medical expert advice on managing your time and energy, studying successfully, and accomplishing your educational goals.
more...less...
When pursuing a career in allied health, you have a number of options at your fingertips. Maybe you want to become a nurse, but you wonder how you can balance your day job with college classes. Or maybe you’re already enrolled in a program, but have no time left over after working and studying all day. For you, time has become a commodity, and the less of it you have, the harder it is to meet project deadlines, study for exams, or prepare for clinicals. If this sounds like you, keep reading. The following guide helps allied health students recognize common challenges of time management and provides actionable study skills shared by industry experts. Learn how to create the perfect study space, schedule your time like a boss, and embrace a routine.

Health Sciences

Librarian

Ask the Libraries

About This Guide

OneSearch Basics

OneSearch

OneSearch

Library Databases

Study Tips