Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Coal Mining in the Pacific Northwest

A guide to archival resources on Coal Mining in the Pacific Northwest.

In Our Library Archives

Frederick Krueger Collection, 1870-2000.

Central Washington University, Archives and Special Collections.

Guide to the collection: Online

Description: The Frederick Krueger Collection comprises materials on the cultural history of the upper Kittitas Valley of Washington state from the middle of the 19th century to the early 20th century. Included are materials on the history of coal mining in Roslyn and Cle Elum. This collection is held by the Archives and Special Collections on the 4th floor of Brooks Library. Please contact the Archives for more information. 

Jonesville Coal Company Papers, 1932-1944

Central Washington University, Archives and Special Collections.

Guide to the collection: Online

The Joneville Coal Company was owned by Frank Watzel, Elizabeth Patrick Watzel, August Klaven, Marion Patrick Klaven, William Shaw, and Katherine Patrick Shaw. They operated the mine from 1927 until 1944. The three women were sisters and nieces of Archibald Patrick, who had started the mine in that location. They also owned the sweet shop in Roslyn Jonesville was near the current town of Ronald , Washington.

Suncadia Legacy Collection,1890-2004

Central Washington University, Archives and Special Collections.

Guide to the collection: Online

Items in this collection include artifacts and ephemera from coal mines and towns of upper Kittitas County, gathered by Frederick Krueger in the 1990s and 2000s. The majority of Suncadia Legacy’s audio and video interviews were conducted 1995-2003, but some audio interviews date as early as 1972, and others—-added by several of Krueger’s students through class oral history and family history projects at the Cle Elum-Roslyn High School—-date to the 1980s and 1990s.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Marty Blackson
Contact:
Brooks Library Archives and Special Collections
blacksonm@cwu.edu
509-963-1023

Background Information

Coal was mined in the Bellingham area as early as 1852 to fuel ships. As the railroads crossed the cascades the companies started prospecting for sources of fuel. The coal mined in the cascades was used primarily to power steam locomotives of the railroads. It was also used to heat homes. This guide focuses on coalmining in Kittitas County but will grow as  more regional coal related sites are found.

From the CWU Frederick Krueger Collection

<iframe src="http://player.mediaamp.io/p/U8-EDC/UKztqletz9Xa/embed/select/media/U_1tb635jvJa?form=html" width="450" height="254" frameBorder="0" seamless="seamless" allowFullScreen></iframe>

Sacking coal at the Roslyn Mine

Officials and coal mine inspectors visit a Roslyn mine. Weight, quality and other information were obtained during the mine inspections to regulate costs of coal and the safety of the mines.

Image from:

"Sacking coal, Roslyn, Washington" (1900). Roslyn African American History Photographs. Paper 60.
http://digitalcommons.cwu.edu/roslyn_african_american_history/60