Coal Mining in the Pacific Northwest

The University of Montana--Missoula, Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library. Northern Pacific Railway Company Records, 1870-1968. 
Guide to the collection: Online 
Description: This collection includes correspondence, construction and expense reports, financial ledgers, activity logs, and publicity materials created by employees of the Northern Pacific Railway Company and its subsidiary lines between 1870 and 1968. It includes information about use of coal in the Northwest. 

University of Washington Libraries, Special Collections. Warren Grant Magnusson Papers, 1918-1989.
Guide to the collection: Online
Description: As a lawyer, U.S. Representative, and Senator from 1945 to 1980, Warren G. Magnuson became involved in issues pertaining to the use of energy resources in the Pacific Northwest. Magnuson's papers as well as material about him are held at the University of Washington Libraries. Please contact the UW Special Collections for further assistance. 

Western Washington University. Center for Pacific Northwest Studies, Pamphlet Collection, 1857-2003. 
Guide to the collection: Online
Description: This collection features reports, promotional brochures, articles and studies from journals and magazines, institutional newsletters, and reference works relating to topics in Pacific Northwest history, including coal mining. This collection is held by Western Washington University. Please contact their Center for Pacific Northwest Studies for further information.