LibGuides: Engineering Technologies, Safety, & Construction: Handbooks & Guides

Handbooks & Guides

MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) Web Links

A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) is designed to provide both workers and emergency personnel with the proper procedures for handling or working with a particular substance. MSDS's include information such as physical data (melting point, boiling point, flash point etc.), toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and spill/leak procedures. These are of particular use if a spill or other accident occurs.

ToxFAQs: Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets

Information for this series is excerpted from the ATSDR Toxicological Profiles and Public Health Statements. Each fact sheet serves as a quick and easy to understand guide.

The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering by Frank Kreith
Call Number: TJ151 .C73 1998
Publication Date: 1998-03-24
Information on thermodynamics, solid / fluid mechanics, heat and mass transfer, system controls, materials, energy conversion, modern manufacturing and design, robotics, computer engineering, environmental engineering, economics and project management, patent law, and bioengineering. Includes mathematical equations illustrating these concepts and a few color photographs.
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae by Daniel Zwillinger (Editor)
Call Number: QA47 .M315 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-25
Each of the 10 chapters in this book tackles a topic in math. These topics are on the analysis of numbers, algebra, discrete math, geometry, continuous mathematics, special functions, probability and statistics, scientific computing, financial analysis and a concluding chapter on miscellaneous topics such as biographies and a list of resources.
Electronics Engineers' Handbook by Donald Christiansen; Donald G. Fink; Ronald K. Jurgen
Call Number: TK7825 .E34 1997
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Main sections within this handbook include the principles and techniques--the basics--behind electronic engineering, materials used, circuits and functions and systems and applications. There is a final chapter on resources, which lists professional, trade and government organizations as well as print and online resources for further research.
The Facts on File Calculus Handbook by Eli Maor
Call Number: QA303.2 M36 2003
Publication Date: 2003-06-01
Intended use is for middle school, high school and college students taking single-variable calculus. It's a comfortingly slim book. There are included a number of well-known calculus theorems, definitions and formulas. There are also charts and tables, biographies, and a historical introduction and a chronology of the subject.
Facts on File Geometry Handbook by Catherine A. Gorini
Call Number: QA445.2 G67 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
McGraw-Hill Machining and Metalworking Handbook by Ronald A. Walsh
Call Number: Ref TJ1185 .W35
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Topics found within this handbook include ANSI standards and safety procedures, metal-cutting techniques and tools, timing formulas, and feeds and speeds tables. Includes illustrations.
National Electrical Code Handbook by Brian J. McPartland; Joseph F. McPartland
Call Number: TK260 .N2 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Explanations, commentary and illustrations on the rules found in the 2005 National Electrical Code. It follows the arrangement of the National Electrical Code's articles.
Wiley Engineer's Desk Reference by Sanford I. Heisler
Call Number: TA151 .H424 1998
Publication Date: 1998-04-24
Contains Reference information, with chapters on mathematics, mechanics / materials, structures (concrete, beams, columns, framing systems), fluid mechanics, thermodynamics / heat transfer, electricity and electronics, controls, economics / statistics, energy sources, the design process, engineering operations, and numerous measurement tables. Includes illustrations and mathematical equations.

Style Guides

The ACS Style Guide by Lorrin R. Garson (Editor); Anne M. Coghill (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-07-20
This style guide provides insight on the ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any sci-tech-med author, reviewer, or editor. Print copies are on Reserve at Swain.
AIP Style Manual by J.T. Scott (Editor)
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
For guidance in writing, editing, and preparing physics manuscripts for publication. Prepared under the direction of the American Institute of Physics Publication Board. Images are available free-of-charge for downloading from this site in Adobe’s Portable Document Format (PDF).
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Reference 1st floor Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Digital technologies have revolutionized publishing in the twenty-first century, but one thing hasn’t changed: The Chicago Manual of Style remains an indispensable reference for all who work with words—the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance.
The Manual of Scientific Style by Harold Rabinowitz (Editor); Suzanne Vogel (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009-03-25
This book addresses all stylistic matters in the relevant disciplines of physical and biological science, medicine, health, and technology. It presents consistent guidelines for text, data, and graphics, providing a comprehensive and authoritative style manual that can be used by the professional scientist, science editor, general editor, science writer, and researcher.