Engineering Technologies, Safety, & Construction

Dating back to 1964 and containing over 3 million records, this database includes technical reports. It is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Commerce.

Your portal to U.S. Government scientific and technical information and data "searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies." Browse topics for links to a wide range of online information sources in areas such as Earth and Ocean Sciences, Mapping and Cartography, Computers, Communications, and Mathematics, Natural Resources and Conservation, and many more.

Includes search engine, agency information, press releases, fact sheets, speeches delivered by the HHS Secretary and other officials, congressional testimony from HHS officials, research, policy and administration news, contact information and links to other organizations.

The EEOC is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.

The FLRA is an independent administrative federal agency created by Title VII of the Civil Service Reform Act of 1978. The Statute allows certain non-postal federal employees to organize, bargain collectively, and to participate through labor organizations of their choice in decisions affecting their working lives.

The FMCS provides arbitration and mediation services to industry, communities, and governmental agencies worldwide. Its mission is to improve labor-management relations, promote collective bargaining, and enhance organizational effectiveness.

NIOSH is the federal agency responsible for conducting research, providing education and training, disseminating information, and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. It is part of the CDC, Centers for Disease Control & Prevention. Resources available through the NIOSH web site include chemical, toxicology, research databases; web-based publications; training programs on video and PowerPoint.

The National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1935 to administer the National Labor Relations Act, the primary law governing relations between unions and employers in the private sector.

The NMB is an agency authorized by the Railway Labor Act to promote peace in the railway and airline industries.

OSHA was established by the Occupational Safety and Health Act to set and enforce standards; provide training, outreach, and education; establish partnerships; and encourage continual improvement in workplace safety and health.

The OLMS of the U.S. Department of Labor administers and enforces most provisions of the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959 (LMRDA). The LMRDA promotes union democracy and financial integrity in private sector labor unions through standards for union officer elections and union trusteeships and safeguards for union assets.

Guidance for starting and running a small business. National and State information. Searchable 8(a) Contractor listing by state. Information on Women's Business Center Program. Link to more than 2,000 other business sites arranged by subject or keyword search.

The SSA has information on U.S. retirement and disability benefits. Through its Social Security Programs Throughout the World, you can do comparative analysis of income security.

Links to all 50 state labor departments.

The DOL fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States by improving their working conditions, advancing their opportunities for profitable employment, protecting their retirement and health care benefits, helping employers find workers, strengthening free collective bargaining, and tracking changes in employment, prices, and other national economic measurements.

This is the HR department for Federal employees. It provides useful guidance for managing any employees.

Amongst the OSH-related topics regulated by the EPA are pesticides, hazardous waste, asbestos, and water pollution. The web site offers basic information on these topics as well as research, databases, regulatory compliance and enforcement data, and laws, regulations, and dockets.