LibGuides: Engineering Technologies, Safety, & Construction: Statistics & Measurements

Websites

Aerospaceweb.org
Non-profit organization operated by engineers and scientists in the aerospace field. The goal of this site is to provide educational information on a variety of subjects ranging from aviation to space travel to weaponry. Our primary areas of expertise include aerodynamics, propulsion systems, vehicle design, engineering career information, and aerospace history.
eFunda
eFunda stands for engineering Fundamentals. Its mission is to create an online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information to meet the majority of their daily reference needs.
Engineers Edge
Design and engineering resources, job postings, and discussion.
iCivilEngineer
iCivilEngineer.com is a knowledge portal specially designed for civil engineering professionals and students. It has two goals in mind: 1) collect and catalog valuable civil engineering relevant Internet resources so that people can find information fast; 2) explore how to take advantage of Internet technology to serve the civil engineering community.
Intute Repository Search (IRS) Project
OAIster Catalog of Digital Resources
OAIster is a catalog more than 25 million records of open access digital resource. The Catalog was built by harvesting information from open access collections around the world The digital resources in OAIster include items such as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, and movies. NOTE: Sometimes OAIster may direct you to items that are access restricted. CWU librarians or at any of the service desks can help you with accessing or requesting this information.

Statistics & Measurements

The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by B. S. Everitt
ISBN: 9780521860390
Publication Date: 2006-08-17
Provides definition of over 3,600 statistical terms, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational aspects. The definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and provide standard formulae. The majority of definitions also give a reference to a book or article where you can seek further or more specialized information, and many entries are accompanied by graphical material that aids understanding. Entries are also provided for standard and specialized statistical software. Additionally short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given.

Engineering Statistics Handbook
Online handbook on exploratory data analysis. It is linked to the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology, and Sematech. Handbook includes a glossary, tables for probability distributions, statistical software, case studies, and techniques for graphing and analyzing statistical information.

Metric Conversion Factors
Extensive list of conversion factors from the Washington Department of Transportation.

National Institute of Standards and Technology
CSTL is the primary Reference laboratory for chemical measurements, entrusted with developing, maintaining, advancing, and enabling the chemical measurement system for the United States of America, thereby enhancing industry's productivity and competitiveness, establishing comparability of measurements to facilitate equity of global trade, and improving public health, safety, and environmental quality.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The ProQuest StatisticalAbstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Statistical Reports of U.S. Science and Engineering
A wealth of surveys, reports, and statistics on the sciences. Surveys describe the workforce and current educational trends in science.

Additional Resources

Greatest Engineering Achievements of the 20th Century
Explore this list of the top 20 achievements, and learn how engineering shaped a century and changed the world.
How Stuff Works
Quizzes, image galleries, weblinks and Q & A website for learning about anything and everything--broken down into browseable sections: adventure, animals, auto, communication, computer, electronics, entertainment, food, geography, health, history, home & garden, money, people, and science.

Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Guide to careers and occupations from the Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics