Aviation Research Guide

Aviation Safety Network sponsored by the Flight Safety Foundation, a searchable database of accident reports, information on airline safety, news, statistics photos, and a large collection of links to safety related web resources.

FAA Accident & Incident Data preliminary, final data on accidents, facilities, investigation reports, forecasts, grant funding data, passenger and cargo information, runway incursion data, airline on-time statistics, and of course, forms for all kinds of safety regulations.

Information Resources from the NTSB, Office of Aviation Safety.  Review their accident database and accident dockets for each case, read our safety studies, learn about our safety recommendations, and access many other important aviation-related resources using the links below.

ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization) Safety includes global safety strategies, navigation plans, standards, best practices, and more.

SKYbrary, Flight Safety Foundation - SKYbrary is an electronic repository of safety knowledge related to flight operations, air traffic management (ATM) and aviation safety in general. It is also a portal, a common entry point, which enables users to access the safety data made available on the websites of various aviation organisations - regulators, service providers, industry.

• Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA)'s mission is to support the dream of flight for any aspiring pilot. Through pilot resources, public education (including an air safety institute) and advocacy, AOPA encourages a passion for aviation. 
• Airline Pilot Guy podcast offers a pilot’s perspective on what goes on behind the scenes (aka the cockpit door). Join in to hear about topics related to airline safety, incidents, accidents and weather. 
• Investigations of Aircraft Accidents 1934 - 1965 is a collection historical aircraft accident reports from the U.S. Department of Transportation Library.
• Lessons Learned  is a web site created from the Civil Aviation Accidents Library from aviation accidents.  These accidents may not be suitable for all audiences.  The intent is to improve aviation safety.
• NTSB Accident Animations the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) created these animated videos to help educate and improve communication between ground control. emergency personnel, pilots, and crew.  They go back to 1998 and include all kinds of hazards including hazardous spills on the tarmac, water, etc.
• NTSB Aviation Accident Database & Synopses is an aviation accident database dating from 1962 to present.  It includes data about civil aviation accidents and other selected incidents within the United States and in international waters.