Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Aviation Research Guide

A resource for finding information related to Aviation studies at Central Washington University.

Atlases and Maps

Great Circle Mapper Resource contains images

Provides the great circle (geodesic) path between two or more points and computes the distance between those points.  (like what is shown in the screen in the seat in front of you when you are traveling in an airplane.  Points can be researched using airport codes, even those of small US airports.

Oxford Reference Online: Maps Restricted Resource Resource contains images

This title now includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. It is part of a suite of reference materials available through the subscription database Oxford Reference Online.

For digital collections of original maps, see also the research guide section "Images Online & in Databases."

Primary Resources and Images

100 Years of Flight: A Chronicle of Aerospace History, 1903-2003
Print Location: Ref TL515 .W526 2003

A month-to-month chronology of the history of flight throughout the world. Great illustrations and color photographs. For a look at classic planes in  Washington State, see the website to the Flying Hertiage Collection at http://www.flyingheritage.com/  located in Arlington, WA.

Flying Heritage Collection Resource contains images

The mission of this Washington state organization is to "collect, restore, fly and preserve combat aircraft and artifacts representing technological, ideological, political, and economic views of aerial conflict in the 20th century, with emphasis on World War II and the Cold War era." The site features images of planes on display, video clips, and details about making an appointment for a guided tour of the facility in Arlington, Washington.