LibGuides: Newspapers and Magazines: New York Times (Access Pass)

Setting up Your Access to the New York Times Online

If you have a CWU email address, you have access to the New York Times online!

What can I access through New York Times online?

Full access includes New York Times U.S. and international editions, Book Review, Times Magazine, Times Games, Archives back to 1851, and more. You can access the NYTimes.com on any device, on or off campus with your CWU-related account.

How do I set up my account?

From a computer:

Go to New York Times (Academic Pass)
Enter your CWU email address
Choose "Continue"
Create a password (we recommend NOT using your CWU password)
Choose "Create Account"
Choose your status
Choose "Sign Up"
Once you have an account, login to nytimes.com using a browser or download the app. Enjoy!

You can also watch this video tutorial to set up your account access.

Step 1	Step 2

From a phone:

To access the NYT app from your phone, download the app from the App Store (iPhone) or Play Store (Android)
You can either set up an account if accessing for the first time, or log in with your account (see above).
Browse and enjoy!

For Users with Existing Accounts or Expired Access

Go to accessNYT.com
Search for and select "Central Washington University"
Follow directions on the page for the scenario that applies to you

New York Times inEDUCATION

For faculty interested in using the New York Times in their classes, or taking the conversation deeper, you have access to New York Times inEDUCATION through your Academic Pass access. Coverage of material includes class article recommendations, instruction strategies, and faculty contributions over 16 subject areas.

Setting up Access

Access to the New York Times inEDUCATION uses the same email address you've used with the basic NYT account. However, it is a stand-alone resource and requires separate credentials than NYTimes.com. All users will still need to register with their @cwu.edu email address and can also set up with the same password as your NYTimes.com account.

Go to inEDUCATION and go to Register in the upper right
Use your same CWU email address, you can also use your same NTY password to keep it simple but don't need to
Start browsing

New York Times: Games

As a CWU patron, you have access to the New York Times Games material.

To get started using this product:

Make sure you've set up a New York Times (Academic Pass) (process listed above)
Then, use the database ACCESS NOTE link below to redeem your access code.
Now you should be able to visit New York Times Games and login with your account to get started using the product.
If you have set up your Academic Pass for this in the past, you may need to re-verify your group access.

New York Times Games
New York Times Games includes a growing selection of engaging word and visual games that stimulate thinking and engage readers in a healthy habit for mental fitness. The collection includes The Crossword, The Mini Crossword, Spelling Bee, Tiles, Vertex, Wordle, and more. Enjoy access to New York Times Games, courtesy of CWU Libraries.

ACCESS NOTE: CWU login is required to redeem the access code. Click here to redeem access code and login to your existing New York Times account or create an account using your cwu.edu email address. Once your NYT Games subscription is active, login to NYTimes.com/games using a browser or download an app. If you are a continuing user and receive a message that your annual access has expired, you will need to redeem the access code again and this should be applied to your existing account.

From a phone:

To access the NYT games app from your phone, download the app from the App Store (iPhone) or Play Store (Android)
You can either set up an account if accessing for the first time, or log in with your account (see above).
Browse and enjoy!

New York Times: Cooking

As a CWU patron, you have access to the New York Times Cooking material.

To get started using this product:

Make sure you've set up a New York Times (Academic Pass) (process listed above)
Then, use the database ACCESS NOTE link below to redeem your access code.
Now you should be able to visit New York Times Coo king and login with your account to get started using the product.
If you have set up your Academic Pass for this in the past, you may need to re-verify your group access by logging into your New York Times Online account.

Returning subscribers:

If you had an Academic Pass to Cooking or Games last year and the system is telling you you need to resubscribe:

Click on the "redeem access code" again (below, under the Access Note) and log into your NYT account. You can do this from your computer, or through the application on your phone. If you use a computer to reactivate your account, you may need to log out and log back into your account on your phone.

New York Times Cooking
New York Times Cooking is a cooking guide and diverse recipe collection that helps home cooks discover, save and organize recipes. Enjoy access to The New York Times Cooking, courtesy of CWU Libraries.

ACCESS NOTE: CWU login is required to redeem the access code. Click here to redeem access code and login to your existing New York Times account or create an account using your cwu.edu email address. Once your NYT Cooking subscription is active, login to NYTimes.com/cooking using a browser or download an app. If you are a continuing user and receive a message that your annual access has expired, you will need to redeem the access code again and this should be applied to your existing account.

From a phone:

To access the NYT cooking app from your phone, download the app from the App Store (iPhone) or Play Store (Android)
You can either set up an account if accessing for the first time, or log in with your account (see above).
Browse and enjoy!

Note: This application does not work on older phones and has known access issues.