ATM/TH 452 - History of Fashion

This digital collection by the University of Wisconsin Libraries includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from 1907 – 1940’s.

Seamstress Kendra Van Cleave's 18th century costume projects, research sources, and blog.

A collection from European archives, libraries and museums sponsored by the European Union.

View Fashion Museum Bath's world-class collection of contemporary and historic dress.

The Henry Art Gallery’s Costume and Textile Collection of historic dress. Browse by Identity, Fashion, or Occasion.

The Museum at FIT collection contains items from the 18th century to the present which are "aesthetically and historically significant directional clothing, accessories, textiles and visual materials, with emphasis on contemporary avant-garde fashion."

This Smithsonian collection contains garments and accessories from 17th century America to the present.

This collection contains 20th Century Designer Collection, Ethnographic Dress, Traphagen Collection, Textile Collection, and the Ann W. Rudolph Button Collection.

This collection contains clothing, carpets, quilts, and more from over 200 regions from over the past 2,000 years.

Fashion plates used in 19th century and early 20th century American, French, and British fashion journals.

Almost three decades of images of New York theater costumes.

Contains many of the United Kingdom's national collections of textiles, fashion, theater, and photographs.

A collaborative collection from museums and organizations like The Met, British Fashion Council, National Gallery of Art in Washington DC, Peabody Essex Museum, ACROSS, Pratt Institute Fashion Design, and more.

This online book of plates is an excellent source for the history of fashion. Be aware that these illustrations have a Victorian perspective to their designs and the website is very old.

Research guide from UCLA with many more links. Not all the same databases they offer are available for CWU students. Check our listing of databases to be sure.

Long list of fashion resources.

Lists of resources on fashion-related museums, exhibits and visual resources. Not everything listed is available to CWU students.