Skip to Main Content
Ask CWU Libraries
CWU Libraries Home

Microforms

This guide describes the wide variety of information products available at the Brooks Library on microformat.

Government Publications

Primarily from the federal government through the federal depository library program, these materials are found in microfiche and are filed (shelved) by SuDoc number.  However, supplemental collections were purchased such as hearings from the Congressional Information Service which are filed by the CIS number and reports from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS formerly   We also have a collection of microcards for the British Sessional papers and the United Nations documents collection.  Ask at the service desk on the third floor for assistance or contact the Government Publications Librarian for help.

Newspapers and Periodicals

Micoform Sets

Many of our microform sets include print indexes which are available in the Microforms room.  These indexes are arranged in numerical order by the number assigned the collection.  Please use OneSearch to locate the entire collection including the Index or contact Ask the Libraries for further assistance.  Also, many of the Primary Source Media collection guides may be available from Gale Publishing.  Some of our featured microform collections include:

  • Anti-slavery Collection, 18th-19th centuries: from the Library of the Society of Friends. MM-653, 25 reels of 35 mm of microfilm plus guide.
  • The Draper Manuscript Collection, MM-997, 123 reels of 35 mm microfilm and guide: letters, miscellaneous legal documents, journals, diaries, family & personal records, land records, muster rolls, order books, court martial lists, interviews of pioneers, etc. together with notes and correspondence of Lyman Draper.
  • History of the Pacific Northwest, MM-641: 325 titles on 30 reels of microfilm plus an index; contains materials relative to the settling of the Pacific Northwest.
  • Landmarks of Science, MP-24: a comprehensive collection of the source material in the history of science comprising the significant contributions to the advancement of science & technology.
  • Library of American Civilization, a fairly comprehensive collection of primary source material relating to all aspects of American life and literature from their beginnings to the outbreak of World War I. Many of the series have been included in digitization projects such as Google Books, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive.