LibGuides: PADstone 184: LAJ 184: Animals and the Law

Group Discussion

Discussion 1

A) Think of someone you trust. What factors make them a trustworthy source?

B) If we were to translate those into trustworthy criteria, what would they look like?

Discussion 2

A) Identify 3 reasons why you would not trust the materials in front of you.

Questions adapted from Heather Beirne's lesson plan.

News Sources

Nexis Uni [formerly LexisNexis Academic]
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) contains full-text national and international news content, with some coverage dating back to 1980. Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Includes major newspapers such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.
Access World News (NewsBank)
Access World News Research Collection is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles, and newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Regional Business News
Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

This is a selection of direct links to recommendable news titles:

This image comes from AllSides and is shared here because they have conducted a thorough analysis and method in creating this. To learn more about the graphic you can visit AllSides Media Bias Chart.

Databases

HeinOnline
HeinOnline has created a research guide specifically for Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights: https://cwu.libapps.com/libguides/admin_c.php?g=948404&p=8658193

End of Session

Complete this brief survey at the end of the library session.

End of Session Survey