Internet Sources - ANTH 347 - Native Peoples of North America - LibGuides at Central Washington University

Tribal Ceded Lands

Native Land Digital

Tribes in Washington

Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
American Indian Health Commission
Map of Washington Tribes
National Congress of American Indians
Tribal Self-Governance.org
Yakama Nation Website
Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation
Washington Tribal Directory
Upper Columbia United Tribes

National Native American Resources

American Indian Digital History Project
This is a Digital History Cooperative founded to recover and preserve rare Indigenous newspapers, photographs, and archival materials from all across Native North America.
American Indian Higher Education Consortium
American Indian Policy Center
Association on American Indian Affairs
National Council of Native American Indians
National Indian Council on Aging
National Park Service: Laws, Executive Orders & Regulations
Links to the full text of cultural resource management federal laws, regulations and standards. Part of the National Park Service's website "History & Culture" (name change from Links to the Past, c. 2008)
Native American Arts Council
Native American Capital
United States Senate Committee of Indian Affairs
Indian Affairs (IA) is the oldest bureau of the United States Department of the Interior. Established in 1824, IA currently provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. There are 566 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Natives in the United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) is responsible for the administration and management of 55 million surface acres and 57 million acres of subsurface minerals estates held in trust by the United States for American Indian, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives. Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) provides education services to approximately 42,000 Indian students

Education Resources

Arts & Culture

NEDCC - Recordings of Aleut
Rare recordings of Aleut peoples, available at the bottom of the page.
Tribal Air
"designed to strengthen EPA and tribal air quality programs in Indian country by providing timely and user-friendly access to key information; promoting the exchange of ideas; and making available relevant documents to all environmental professionals"
Intercontinental Cry
News on indigenous people around the world.
American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents
Collection "includes the history of American Indians and Alaskan Natives during the period 1817-1899. The Serial Set, which is still published today, contains the House and Senate Documents and Reports from Congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation."
American Museum of Natural History
This site has images of over 160,000 objects from the museum's North American, Mexican & Central American, South American, African, Asian, European, and Pacific Ethnographic Collections. The image is accompanied by a description, a link to an image of the original catalogue pages, field notebooks, and sometimes additional photographs. Additional information on the collections is available, as well as an archive with a variety of fascinating information.
First American Art: The Charles and Valerie Diker Collection of American Indian Art
Companion to a 2003-2006 Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian exhibit of art that focuses on the collectors' "love of beautiful objects" (rather than objects with historical significance or those that achieve ethnological representation). Features images of items from the collection and short essays on themes such as emotion, movement, and intimacy. Some of the items represented include baskets, moccasins, sculpture, and textiles.
History of life through time.
This exhibit provides a survey of that biodiversity through time, focusing on major lineages of organisms. Many of these lineages have gone extinct or currently exist at a much lower diversity than in the past, so there may be large exhibits on groups of organisms that are unfamiliar to you. They are featured because they play an important role in the history of life on Earth.
more...less...
This is an online exhibit from University of California Museum of Paleontology.

Digital Collections for History Research

California Indian History
"access to Euro-American primary sources from public domain collections, organized in one place via a timelines format."
4. American Memory Project including the U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Serial Set

The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 may be found in the American State Papers.

The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.
2010 Census- Tribal Tract Reference Maps
2010 Census - Tribal Tract Reference Maps

These federal American Indian reservation-based maps show and label tribal census tracts and tribal block groups as delineated to support 2010 Census data dissemination. These maps also show the boundaries and names of American Indian reservations, off-reservation trust lands (ORTLs), Alaska Native areas, Hawaiian home lands, states, counties, county subdivisions, and places. Additionally, these maps display a base feature network including roads, railroads, and water bodies. These features are labeled as map scale permits. Each entity is covered by one or more parent map sheets at a single scale. An index map showing the sheet configuration is included for all entities requiring more than one parent map sheet. The map sheet size is 36 by 32 inches.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
We can learn from the images and writings of the time...This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries.
Bureau of Indian Affairs Document Library
Online document library of the Bureau of Indian Affairs
Federally recognized Indian Tribes
The U.S. government officially recognizes more than 500 Indian tribes in the contiguous 48 states and Alaska. These federally recognized tribes are eligible for funding and services from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, either directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts.

The Bureau of Indian Affairs provides contact information for each tribe's Tribal Leader through an interactive map.
Hathi Trust Digital Library: Indigenous peoples of the Americas
The Hathi Trust has various documents, images, and books about Indigenous people, most of which are available for free online.
Indians/Native Americans
➢ National Archives has an all-encompassing site related to researching many collections related to native American research. Brooks Library has several of the microfilm sets and newspapers. You may wish to begin your research here and narrow down to have we have in our collection. What we do not have, we may be able to obtain through our Summit partners.
Kapler’s Indian Affairs, Laws & Treaties
The print version is available in the Brooks Library on 3rd floor in GovPubs E94. U6 1904 (microfiche MH-351)
➢ Indian Treaties & the Removal Act of 1830, Office of the Historian, U.S. Department of State
The U.S. Government used treaties as one means to displace Indians from their tribal lands, a mechanism that was strengthened with the Removal Act of 1830. In cases where this failed, the government sometimes violated both treaties and Supreme Court rulings to facilitate the spread of European Americans westward across the continent.
DocsTeach: Native American
Search photos, documents, and treaties in the National Archives from Native American history.
Western History Collections - Native American Manuscripts (U of Oklahoma)
Indian-Pioneer Papers Collection (U of Oklahoma)
"The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection spans from 1861 to 1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life there. Consisting of approximately 80,000 entries, the index to this collection may be accessed via personal name, place name, or subject."

Atlases and Maps

Mapping History
A project at the University of Oregon, this site contains modern maps illustrating historical topics in American, European, Latin and African history.
Native Languages maps
more...less...
Welcome to Native Languages of the Americas! You have reached the American Indians by States section of our website, a new educational project designed to provide information about indigenous people in different U.S. states. Follow the links to the right of our tribal map for more information about the language, culture and history of each Washington tribe, or scroll below the map for Washington Indian activities including a wordsearch, fact sheets for kids about each tribe, and worksheets teaching words from the different Native American languages of Washington.

Resources from federal and state agencies

ACF Tribal & Native American Resources
Census, Intergovernmental Affairs: Tribal Affairs
Includes: Overview of Intergovernmental Affairs Office: Tribal Affairs, and 2020 Census Key Operational and Key Tribal Program Milestones
Department of the Interior, Native Americans
Federal Agencies Native American Offices, Programs, & Resources
Federally Recognized Tribes and Resources for Native Americans
HUD, Office of Native American Programs
National Archives: native american
Small Business Administration, Resources for Native American Affairs Office
USDA, National Agricultural Library, Rural Information Center, Tribal Communities

Archeological Research

African-American Archaeology Network
"presentations and resources concerning the subjects of African-American archaeology, history and cultures, and broader subjects of African diaspora archaeology"
Index of Native American Archeology
The primary purpose of this website is to "provide information resources to the Native American community and only secondarily to the general community" but provides a number of directive resources.

Yakama Language

A sketch of northern Sahaptin grammar, by Melville Jacobs, 1902-1971
Publication Date: 1931

Resources Based on Region

Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
This site provides access to interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living.

Traders: Voices from the Trading Post
Offered by Northern Arizona University, this site provides access to oral interviews with members of the United Indian Traders Association (UITA), a non-profit organization formed In 1931 to promote improved business practices among Indian traders, arts and crafts dealers.

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
This site, by the University of Washington, provides access to original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, as well as essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.

C. Hart Merriam Collection of Native American Photographs
This collection comprises images taken by C. Hart Merriam (1855-1942) as he documented the languages of California Indian tribes.

First Nation Collection
Provided by Southern Oregon University, this collection comprises documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of southwestern Oregon and northern California. Some of the nations represented include the Coos, Hupa, Karuk, Klamath, Modoc, Takelma, Shasta, Siuslaw, Cow Creek Band of Umpqua, Yahooskin, and Yurok nations.

In the Beginning Was the Word: The Russian Church and Native Alaskan Cultures
The Library of Congress worked collaboratively with Russian linguist Vyacheslav Ivanov to assemble this collection of photographs and documents taken from the Alaskan Russian Church Archives. The exhibit documents exchanges between priests of the Russian Orthodox Church and native Alaskans from 1794 to about 1915.

Native Peoples of Northern Great Plains
This database includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs created between 1874 and the 1940s, documenting the culture of tribes on the northern Great Plains.

Richard Throssel Papers
This collection includes 2,481 photographs, glass plate negatives and lantern slides created by Richard Throssel while on the Crow and Northern Cheyenne reservations from 1902-1933. Photographs show daily life, villages, ranching, and scenery in southern Montana and northern Wyoming.

Manuscripts Relating to Samson Occom and Eleazar Wheelock's Early Indian Students, 1740s-1790s
This collection by Dartmouth College Library documents the work of Samson Occom, a member of the Mohegan nation, who worked to found a Christian Indian community in the Oneida territory at the end of the eighteenth century. The collection comprises letters, diaries, sermons, prose, and annotated books that touch on topics like the Great Awakening, attitudes toward Indians in the 18th century, missionary work among the Indians, the education of Indians, and Mohegan language and culture.

AIM and Wounded Knee Documents
This site presents newsletters, treaties, flyers, and chronologies relating to the history of Wounded Knee and the American Indian Movement (AIM). Documents were provided by Michigan State University Library.

Ayer Ojibwa Collection
This collection, created by Jeannette O. and Harry D. Ayer, contains many examples of traditional Ojibwa objects such as bandolier bags, moccasins, belts and bands. Objects are searchable by keyword and topic.

Camping with the Sioux: Fieldwork Diary of Alice Cunningham Fletcher
This site presents two journals kept by Alice Fletcher during a six-week venture into Plains Indian territory in 1881. For convenience, the diary has been divided into daily entries.

Dakota Conflict Trials of 1862
Douglas O. Linder, of the School of Law at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, has created this website, which features photos, maps, and excerpts of first-person accounts relating to the Sioux uprising and trials of 1862.

Lakota Winter Counts
The Lakota once marked the passage of time by drawing pictures of memorable events on calendars known as winter counts. This exhibit by Smithsonian Institute features a searchable database of winter counts as well as a documentary about Lakota history and video interviews with Lakota people.

Missions to Native North Americans
Provided by Harvard University Library, this collection documents the work of the Dakota Mission, which worked to Christianize the eastern Sioux beginning in 1835. The collection covers 1844-1859 and 1882, with annual reports, school reports, correspondence from missionaries, items in the Dakota language (including the Constitution of Minnesota), and other materials that document missionary efforts to teach English to members of the tribe.

Omaha Indian Heritage
This site aims to provide an online catalog of Omaha artifacts and photographic images drawn from sources around the world. Partners in the project include the University of Nebraska State Museum, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries, and the Nebraska State Historical Society, in consultation with the Omaha tribe. Also included on the website are essays by ethnographers and scholars of Omaha history and culture, including works from the late nineteenth century.

Omaha Indian Music
This exhibit, by the Library of Congress, presents sound recordings that document Omaha culture. Included in the collection are wax cylinder recordings made in the 1890s, songs and spoken-word segments recorded in the 1980s, and photos of celebrations during the 1980s.

Plains Indian Ledger Art
This site from UC San Diego makes available Plains drawing created during the 1860-1900 period. Twenty-seven ledgers are currently available for viewing.