LibGuides: Music: Underrespresented Composers

Music History in the Western Classical Tradition - Underrepresented Composers

Latin American Classical Composers by Martha Furman Schleifer (Editor); Gary Galván (Editor)
ISBN: 9780810888708
Now in its third edition, Latin American Classical Composers provides a singular English-language resource for biographical information on hundreds of composers from Central and South America and the Hispanic Caribbean. Gathered from a variety of sources, it fills the gaps left by other major English-language music dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Contemporary Concert Music by Women by Judith L. Zaimont (Compiled by); Karen Famera (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313229213
"Of value to music libraries and scholars and to feminist groups interested in finding out about women composers and presenting their music to the public." Reference Books Bulletin
International Dictionary of Black Composers by Samuel A. Floyd (Editor)
ISBN: 9781884964275
Provides information on composers of African heritage from around the world during the last 300 years.
The Norton-Grove Dictionary of Woman Composers by Julie Anne Sadie; Rhian Samuel
ISBN: 9780393034875
This definitive source chronicles the lives and works of 875 women composers of Western classical music. Following the standards set by the twenty-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music, most entries in this Dictionary include a detailed biography, an evaluation of the subject's music and her career, and a comprehensive list of her published and unpublished works.

African American Composers
Digital collection from Brown University Library.
American Viola Society: Underrepresented Composer Database
This database explores repertoire by underrepresented composers that involves the viola as a significant voice.
Composer Diversity Database
The Institute for Composer Diversity, housed at SUNY - Fredonia, is dedicated to the celebration, education, and advocacy of music created by composers from historically underrepresented groups through online tools, research-based resources, and sponsored initiatives. The award-winning Composer Diversity Database allows users to discover almost four thousand composers from underrepresented groups.
Expanding the American Canon: A Conductor's Compendium of Black American Orchestral Composers
Dissertation: This document aims to address the issue of accessible published works by Black Americans by presenting a current resource of available and ready-to-be- performed symphonic orchestral music by Black American composers.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library
A large, 5-volume digital collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores. Encompasses all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century and includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores. **Stellingwerf gift purchase
Music Online: Classical Music Library
- This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming classical music available online with thousands of composers, ensembles, albums, and genres. It includes all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-gard.

African American Composers
Digital collection from Brown University Library.
African Diaspora Music Project
A compilation of original works by composers in the African Diaspora. All research associated with this project is owned and presented by Dr. Louise Toppin and Videmus.
Aria Access Project (AAP)
The AAP aims to increase awareness of and access to arias by diverse, contemporary American composers and librettists, whose scores remain largely unpublished. This online hub includes arias from works that have recently received their premieres, as well as from operas for which the premieres are forthcoming. At launch, the AAP includes 20 different arias, all available for free download as PDFs for educational and audition purposes. Additional arias will be added to the AAP hub on a regular basis.
Hathi Trust Women Composers Collection
The Hathi Trust Women Composers Collection consists of digitized sheet music for approximately 3,000 musical works by more than 700 women composers. Most date from the 19th- and early 20th-centuries, with a few pieces from the 18th century.

The Queer Composition of America's Sound by Nadine Hubbs
ISBN: 9780520241848
In this vibrant and pioneering book, Nadine Hubbs shows how a gifted group of Manhattan-based gay composers were pivotal in creating a distinctive "American sound" and in the process served as architects of modern American identity. Focusing on a talented circle that included Aaron Copland, Virgil Thomson, Leonard Bernstein, Marc Blitzstein, Paul Bowles, David Diamond, and Ned Rorem, The Queer Composition of America's Sound homes in on the role of these artists' self-identification—especially with tonal music, French culture, and homosexuality—in the creation of a musical idiom that even today signifies "America" in commercials, movies, radio and television, and the concert hall.
The Choral Music of Twentieth-Century Women Composers by Catherine Roma
ISBN: 9780810850293
This book brings to light the choral works of three contemporary British women composers: Elisabeth Lutyens (1906-1983), Elizabeth Maconchy (1907-1994), and Thea Musgrave (1928- ). Earning solid reputations in Britain through their varying compositional styles, their music has revealed them to be substantial, prolific composers who are representative of major trends in twentieth-century British choral composition.

Music Index with Full Text
Covers every aspect of classical and popular music. In addition to full-text journals, it includes reviews of performances as well as reviews of sound recordings and videos.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete back issues of over 600 core scholarly journals in the natural and applied sciences, as well as the arts, humanities, and the social sciences.
Recent Researches in Music Online
Recent Researches in Music Online provides online access to all titles published in 2018 and later in the seven Recent Researches in Music series: Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American (including MUSA), and Oral Traditions.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- This link opens in a new window
International index of scholarly writings on music as well as music-related disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.