Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Open Education Resources

Educational Films and Documentaries

Image Databases

AICT: Art Images for College Teaching
AICT is a built through nonprofit collaboration and the images are licensed for non-profit use. They also note that "the art and architectural works documented are, to the best of its knowledge, within the public domain."

Boston College Digital Archive of Art

Europeana
Europeana is a gateway to digitized resources from more than 2,000 European cultural institutions including museums, libraries, and archives. It is multilingual and incorporates materials of cultural and scientific historical significance. Formats include images, texts (books, primary documents, articles), sound, and video.

Image Collections and Online Art

Part of the website "Mother of all Art and History Links" this portion of the site--Image Collections and Online Art--is a portal to other online collections.  It has links to websites covering all art formats and searchable by geographic region (African & the African Diaspora, the Americas, Asia, Europe, Islam, Classical World of the Mediterranean) by format (Photography) and by location (Collections, Galleries & Sources).

Intute: Visual Arts
Search or browse the database of Visual Arts resources which have been selected, evaluated and described by subject specialists.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

Some 600,000 digital images from within the NYPL's collections.  Browse by subjects alphabetically listed or by suggested disciplines.  Look at this website if you need images of postcards, posters, photographs, etc. of technological changes, specific people and historic events throughout America...not just New York.

Smithsonian American Art Museum
The Smithsonian American Art Museum (SAAM) is America's first federal art collection, dedicated to the enjoyment and understanding of American art.

The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
The University of Wisconsin Madison General Library System provides this collection of texts, facsimiles, images, and Web resources in the digital arts. The impressive span of dates of digitized publications runs from 1673 to 2000. Beautiful, high quality scans of textual materials and images of 3D items with a focus on Early America.

  World Digital Library
This repository includes an impressive array of original material types including "manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings." In addition to search, multiple browsing options are available including geographic region and chronological era. The interface is available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish with yet more languages reflected in the documents represented. Europe, Latin America and the Carribean, and the Middle East and North Africa are best represented.

University of Michigan: Image Library

University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections
Materials from the University of Washington Libraries, University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW. Collections are primarily pictorial, although some have accompanying essays and text. Other media are presented, such as newspapers, reports, pamphlets, posters and maps. The emphasis of these collections is on rare and unique materials and it is a great resource for Pacific Northwest history topics.

Educational Simulations

Sound

Free Courses

Virtual Reality Material

Production

Experiences