Teaching Elementary, Adolescent and Young Children
This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for information pertaining to education. It will assist in searching for books, research articles, current news, and pertinent government information.
American Federation of Teachers
The American Federation of Teachers was founded in 1916 to represent the economic, social and professional interests of classroom teachers. It is an affiliated international union of the AFL-CIO. Five divisions within the organization represent the broad spectrum of AFT's membership: teachers; paraprofessionals and school-related personnel (PSRP); local, state and federal employees; higher education faculty and staff; and nurses and other healthcare professionals.
American Educational Research Association
"Concerned with improving the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results. ... This site contains divisional information, special interest groups, job anouncements and a membership form." The site also has full text publications and lists of resources you can then search for through the CWU library catalog and databases.
Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
According to the site, "ASCD is an international, nonprofit, nonpartisan education association committed to the mission of forging covenants in teaching and learning for the success of all learners. Founded in 1943, ASCD provides professional development in curriculum and supervision; initiates and supports activities to provide educational equity for all students; and serves as a world-class leader in education information services."
Center on Education Policy
The Center on Education Policy is a national, independent advocate for public education and for more effective public schools. The Center helps Americans better understand the role of public education in a democracy and the need to improve the academic quality of public schools.
Education Law Association
"Education Law Association, formerly NOLPE, is a nonadvocacy, nonprofit organization that provides an unbiased forum for the dissemination of information about current issues in education law. Members include attorneys, school administrators, teachers and students from across the United States, Canada and overseas."
Learning Disabilities Association of America
National, non-profit organization. Purpose is to advance the education and general welfare of children and adults of normal or potentially normal intelligence who manifest disabilities of a perceptual, conceptual, or coordinative nature. Fact sheets and recent alerts/bulletins are available.
National Center for Learning Disabilities
The NCLD Web site provides facts, news, resources, and links for persons with learning disabilities and their families. Extensive information on issues such as LD evaluation, legislation, outreach and educational programs, public policy, and legal rights.
National Education Association
"The National Education Association (NEA) is the nation's largest professional employee organization and is committed to advancing the cause of public education. NEA's 2.7 million members work at every level of education, from pre-school to university graduate programs. NEA has affiliate organizations in every state, as well as in more than 14,000 local communities across the United States."
Ask CWU Libraries