Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CWU Libraries logo
Ask a Librarian chat image Ask the Libraries
Home

Teaching Elementary, Adolescent and Young Children

This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for information pertaining to education. It will assist in searching for books, research articles, current news, and pertinent government information.

Electronic journals

The CWU Library subscribes to over 30,000 electronic journals (e-journals). It normally works best to search for e-journals if you already have a specific journal or citation to find.  Also, be sure to note the date ranges available for individual journal titles.

Databases

Most of the databases below provide the full text of scholarly journal articles to authenticated campus users.  A few of these databases provide citations only, in which case you will need to search our Catttrax online catalog or our E-Journals Portal to see if the  journal is available either in print or online.  [Click here for a complete listing of the library's databases]

(Add / Edit Text )

The following are education-related databases:                                                                  

               A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracting for more than 9,300 journals.

               Indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.

               The new ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, arebe available for free. For items published before 1993, CWU owns the entire microfiche collection of ERIC Documents. For assistance, see a librarian in the Documents Dept., also on the 3rd floor.   ERIC video that describes the types of resources and how to locate these materials in ERIC.

                 The EdITLib Digital Library is your source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning." NOTE: This used to be called the AACE [Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education] Digital Library].

 

                  This comprehensive database contains full text for nearly 500 magazines popular in high schools. MAS Ultra is recommended for use by student teachers for lesson planning; all full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Includes biographies, primary source documents, more than 360 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac & Book of Facts), images and expanded full-text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

                   Indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals, most of which are peer-reviewed titles.  Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education

                  Indexes the content available in the print volumes of the Mental Measurements Yearbook series available in the Library's First Floor Reference Collection.